Hýdōr (Piano Works XII) Rainer Böhm

Cover Hýdōr (Piano Works XII)

Album info

Album-Release:
2018

HRA-Release:
27.09.2018

Label: ACT Music

Genre: Instrumental

Subgenre: Piano

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

?

Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 15.30
  • 1Bass Study (Part I)05:04
  • 2Bass Study (Part II)02:45
  • 3Hydor02:25
  • 4Badi Bada03:46
  • 5Terzen02:10
  • 6Two Minds02:10
  • 7Catalyst05:55
  • 8Brazilian Movie Song05:22
  • 9Querstand01:50
  • 10Expansion and Reduction04:22
  • 11Thumb Up, Broken Toe05:05
  • 12Hypo04:52
  • 13Hydor Reprise03:47
  • Total Runtime49:33

Info for Hýdōr (Piano Works XII)



“ACT seems to be on a mission to introduce the world to Europe's rising new jazz-classical pianists,” the UK’s leading jazz critic John Fordham of the Guardian has noted. And jazz for piano has indeed always been part of ACT's DNA. The label’s roster includes pianists who have achieved international renown such as Joachim Kühn, Esbjörn Svensson and Michael Wollny; and more recently the Austrian David Helbock has started to be recognized as the major talent he clearly is. Siggi Loch started the dedicated album series “Piano Works” to present the finest in solo piano playing, and Rainer Böhm with his album “hýdōr” becomes the latest pianist to enter this pantheon.

Born in Ravensburg in Southern Germany in 1977 and now based in Cologne, Böhm is considered by critics to be one of the country’s outstanding jazz pianists, yet among the wider public he has not reached the level of recognition he deserves. He has made his mark through some excellent projects – with saxophonists Johannes Enders and Lutz Häfner, and trumpeter Axel Schlosser, for example. In 2016 with drummer Bastian Jütte’s quartet he won the award which is widely held to be the most important in German jazz, the New German Jazz Prize – and he won the Soloist Prize as well. He teaches at the conservatoires in Nuremberg and Mannheim, where he is one of their youngest professors.

Böhm is also known as a long-standing member of the trio of Germany’s pre-eminent bassist, Dieter Ilg. The success and the impact that this group has achieved are at least in part attributable to Böhm’s remarkable piano playing, notably in its jazz adaptations of the greats of classical music – Verdi, Wagner, Beethoven and Bach. Indeed, the concept of crossing such frontiers is at the core of Böhm's musical identity, and is to be found in its purest form on “hýdōr”. Böhm is one of those genre-defiers for whom classical music and jazz are not in opposition to each other, but perfectly complementary polarities situated around a central task: how to convey emotions through music.

The way Böhm has now risen to this challenge as a solo pianist is magnificent. He is able to rely on a stupendous technique: seldom can such deft alternation of left and right hands in melody and chordal accompaniment been heard as in the two parts of Böhm's “Bass Study”. Böhm also uses chromaticism in a highly original way on “hýdōr”, not only in pieces such as “Querstand” (where it is to be expected, the title, is the German for the musical term ‘false relation’), but also on “Terzen” (thirds) in which chromatic twists have a captivating way of subverting the melodic sweetness. In “Expansion And Reduction” Böhm achieves exactly what the title promises: wonderful harmonic resolutions, strongly rhythmic playing, and contrasting aggressive syncopation with a calm steady pulse as an underlying ostinato.

All of this allows him to exploit the deepest well of his creativity, which is his inexhaustible melodic inventiveness. Again and again, irresistible melodies emerge; they can be ethereal miniatures reminiscent of Grieg as in the title track “hýdōr”, heavily romantic as in the agitated tune “Catalyst”, skittish as in the bebop-style “Thumb Up, Broken Toe”, or gently lyrical as in “Hypo”. Another kind of fascination comes from a rhythmically superimposed melody in “Badi Bada” – which dances carefree over clusters in the left hand à la Philip Glass.

The reason that Böhm's playing, compositions and improvisations are so affecting is that they are so subtle. He prefers allusion to heart-on-sleeve and favours themes which are pared-down (and which can also change in surprising ways) in place of over-obvious motifs. They draw the listener deep into a world which is always tinged with melancholy. “That’s probably in line with my character,” he reflects. In “hýdōr” Böhm has impressively joined the ranks of the great piano romantics. His highly individual voice makes a new and distinguished addition to the “Piano Works” series.

Rainer Böhm, piano

Recorded by Stefan Deistler at Tonstudio Loft, Cologne, August 10 & 11, 2017
Mixed by Stefan Deistler
Mastered by Klaus Scheuermann

No albums found.

No biography found.

Booklet for Hýdōr (Piano Works XII)

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO

Hýdōr (Piano Works XII) Rainer Böhm

Cover Hýdōr (Piano Works XII)

Album info

Album-Release:
2018

HRA-Release:
27.09.2018

Label: ACT Music

Genre: Instrumental

Subgenre: Piano

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

?

Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 15.30
  • 1Bass Study (Part I)05:04
  • 2Bass Study (Part II)02:45
  • 3Hydor02:25
  • 4Badi Bada03:46
  • 5Terzen02:10
  • 6Two Minds02:10
  • 7Catalyst05:55
  • 8Brazilian Movie Song05:22
  • 9Querstand01:50
  • 10Expansion and Reduction04:22
  • 11Thumb Up, Broken Toe05:05
  • 12Hypo04:52
  • 13Hydor Reprise03:47
  • Total Runtime49:33

Info for Hýdōr (Piano Works XII)

„ACT ist auf einer Mission, der Welt Europas aufstrebende Jazzpianisten vorzustellen“, schrieb die britische Tageszeitung „The Guardian“ vor einigen Jahren. Tatsächlich ist der Piano-Jazz seit jeher essentieller Bestandteil der Label-DNA: Joachim Kühn, Esbjörn Svensson, Iiro Rantala und Michael Wollny haben es zu internationalem Erfolg gebracht, und auch jüngst macht mit dem Österreicher David Helbock ein neues Top-Talent auf sich Aufmerksam. Für die Präsentation der Soloklavier-Kunst hat Produzent Siggi Loch mit „Piano Works“ sogar eine eigene Reihe geformt. Mit „hýdōr“ stellt sich nun auch Rainer Böhm dieser Königsdisziplin.

Der 40-jährige in Köln lebende Ravensburger wird von Kritikern seit Jahren zu den herausragenden deutschen Jazzpianisten gezählt. In der breiten Öffentlichkeit hat Böhm aber noch nicht die Aufmerksamkeit gefunden, die ihm zusteht, obwohl er sich seit Jahren mit exzellenten Projekten, unter anderem mit Johannes Enders, Lutz Häfner oder Axel Schlosser, profiliert. 2016 gewann er mit dem Bastian Jütte Quartett nicht nur die vielleicht wichtigste Auszeichnung im deutschen Jazz, den Neuen Deutschen Jazzpreis, sondern auch noch den Solistenpreis. Als Professor an den Musikhochschulen in Nürnberg und Mannheim ist er darüber hinaus einer der jüngsten Lehrstuhlinhaber.

Bekannt ist Böhm auch als langjähriges Mitglied im Trio von Deutschlands Ausnahmebassisten Dieter Ilg. Der Erfolg der gefeierten und vielfach preisgekrönten Jazz-Anverwandlungen der Klassikfürsten Verdi, Wagner, Beethoven und Bach ist auch seinem Klavierspiel zu verdanken. Hier ist auch der Kern von Böhms musikalischem Selbstverständnis zu hören, wie man es auf „hýdōr“ in Reinkultur wiederfindet: Böhm gehört zu den Genre-Überwindern, für die Klassik und Jazz keine Gegensätze sind, sondern sich perfekt ergänzende Pole bei der immer im Mittelpunkt stehenden Aufgabe, mit der Musik Emotionen zu transportieren.

Diese Herausforderung löst er nun auch solo mit Bravour. Die Basis dafür ist seine stupende Technik: Selten hat man eine linke Hand die rechte derart gekonnt in der Melodieführung und Akkordbegleitung abwechseln gehört wie auf den zwei Teilen von Böhms „Bass Study“. Unnachahmlich auch wie Böhm auf „hýdōr“ Chromatik als Stilmittel einsetzt: Nicht nur bei Stücken wie „Querstand“, wo man dies schon vom Titel her erwarten kann, auch auf „Terzen“ brechen chromatische Wendungen den Wohlklang derselben spannend auf. Wundervolle Auflösungen gelingen Böhm damit, was verbunden mit starken rhythmischen Akzenten von harter Synkopierung bis zum ostinaten Ruhepuls genau den Effekt ergibt, den ein Titel wie „Expansion & Reduction“ beschreibt.

All dies verschafft Böhm den Raum für seine wichtigste kreative Quelle: seinen melodischen Einfallsreichtum. Immer wieder schälen sich unwiderstehliche Melodien heraus, ätherische, an Grieg erinnernde Miniaturen wie beim Titelstück „hýdōr“, schwer romantische wie im aufgewühlten „Catalyst“, fröhlich sprunghafte wie in dem Bebop artigen „Thumb Up, Broken Toe“ oder sanft lyrische wie bei „Hypo“. Faszinierend ist auch die rhythmisch überlagerte Melodie, welche in „Badi Bada“ über ein von der Linken durchgehaltenen minimal-music-cluster à la Philip Glass tänzelt.

Böhms Spiel, seine Kompositionen und Improvisationen berühren so stark, weil sie so subtil sind. Andeutungen statt ausgestellte Gefühle, reduzierte, sich überraschend wandelnde Themen statt plakative Motive ziehen den Hörer tief in Böhms immer etwas melancholische Welt hinein. „Das entspricht vermutlich meinem Wesen“, sagt er. Mit „hýdōr“ reiht sich Böhm eindrucksvoll und mit einer eigenen Stimme unter die großen Klavier-Romantiker ein und setzt die Reihe der „Piano Works“ würdig fort.

Rainer Böhm, Klavier

Recorded by Stefan Deistler at Tonstudio Loft, Cologne, August 10 & 11, 2017
Mixed by Stefan Deistler
Mastered by Klaus Scheuermann



No albums found.

No biography found.

Booklet for Hýdōr (Piano Works XII)

© 2010-2018 HIGHRESAUDIO