Twardowski: Violin Concerto, Spanish Fantasia & Other Works Toruń Symphony Orchestra, Mariusz Smolij & Kinga Augustyn

Cover Twardowski: Violin Concerto, Spanish Fantasia & Other Works

Album info



Label: Naxos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 10.00
  • Romuald Twardowski (n. 1930): Fantazja hiszpańska (Version for Violin & Orchestra):
  • 1Fantazja hiszpańska (Version for Violin & Orchestra): I. Improvisación04:12
  • 2Fantazja hiszpańska (Version for Violin & Orchestra): II. Danza06:23
  • Serenade:
  • 3Serenade: I. Allegro non troppo03:19
  • 4Serenade: II. Andante espressivo04:28
  • 5Serenade: III. Con brio03:19
  • Violin Concerto:
  • 6Violin Concerto: I. Grave - Più mosso06:23
  • 7Violin Concerto: II. Andante03:33
  • 8Violin Concerto: III. Allegro deciso07:26
  • Niggunim "Melodies of the Hasidim":
  • 9Niggunim "Melodies of the Hasidim"12:43
  • Capriccio in Blue "George Gershwin in Memoriam":
  • 10Capriccio in Blue "George Gershwin in Memoriam"10:00
  • Total Runtime01:01:46

Info for Twardowski: Violin Concerto, Spanish Fantasia & Other Works

Born in Vilnius and a student of Nadia Boulanger, Romuald Twardowski writes music which blends tradition and modernity. His writing for strings is consistently masterful, whether in the lyricism and capricious rhythms of Serenade for string orchestra, or the ‘new simplicity’ of his Violin Concerto. Fantazja hiszpanska (‘Spanish Fantasia’) shows how deeply the composer absorbed flamenco music during a visit to Spain, while Niggunim explores authentic Hassidic Jewish melodies. Capriccio in Blue is a delightful and wholly original salute to George Gershwin. Award-winning violinist Kinga Augustyn’s playing has been described as ‘stylish and vibrant’ (The Strad). She also appears on other recordings for Naxos, including a release of Polish violin classics about which Fanfare wrote: “she meets the challenge magnificently. Hallmarks of her playing are razor-sharp execution, even in the most taxing technical passages.”

Kinga Augustyn, violin
Toruń Symphony Orchestra
Mariusz Smolij, conductor

No albums found.

No biography found.

Booklet for Twardowski: Violin Concerto, Spanish Fantasia & Other Works

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO