Matthew Quayle: String Quartets Nos. 1-3 Avalon String Quartet

Cover Matthew Quayle: String Quartets Nos. 1-3

Album info



Label: Naxos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 10.00
  • Matthew Quayle (b. 1976): String Quartet No. 1:
  • 1String Quartet No. 1: I. Andante espressivo09:21
  • 2String Quartet No. 1: II. Scherzo. Presto03:21
  • 3String Quartet No. 1: III. Andante serioso06:44
  • 4String Quartet No. 1: IV. Allegro03:41
  • String Quartet No. 2:
  • 5String Quartet No. 2: "Sweet Insanity"09:12
  • String Quartet No. 3:
  • 6String Quartet No. 3: I. Semplice02:29
  • 7String Quartet No. 3: II. Straziante01:29
  • 8String Quartet No. 3: III. Allegro01:35
  • 9String Quartet No. 3: IV. Energico01:56
  • 10String Quartet No. 3: V. Andantino01:21
  • 11String Quartet No. 3: VI. Valse triste01:52
  • 12String Quartet No. 3: VII. Allegro ma non troppo01:40
  • 13String Quartet No. 3: VIII. Presto01:25
  • 14String Quartet No. 3: IX. Adagietto02:40
  • 15String Quartet No. 3: X. Straziante01:16
  • 16String Quartet No. 3: XI. Tempo I02:32
  • 17String Quartet No. 3: XII. Easygoing00:53
  • 18String Quartet No. 3: XIII. Subito più mosso00:49
  • Total Runtime54:16

Info for Matthew Quayle: String Quartets Nos. 1-3

World premiere recordings of Quayle’s three string quartets written over a span of 13 years from, in the composer’s own words, 'the introspective yet ardent journey of the expansive First Quartet, to the spiky mischief of the Second, to the enigmatic meandering through the thirteen fleeting

“I am delighted to share the Avalon Quartet’s powerful rendition of my three string quartets on Naxos. These remarkable musicians display their uncommon insight and interpretive range throughout the album—from the introspective yet ardent journey of the expansive First Quartet, to the spiky mischief of the Second, to the enigmatic meandering through the thirteen fleeting movements of the Third. They have fully captured the stylistic diversity and dramatic intensity of these deeply personal pieces.” (Matthew Quayle)

Avalon String Quartet

Avalon String Quartet
Described by the Chicago Tribune as an ensemble that invites you ears, mind, and spirit into its music, the Avalon String Quartet has established itself as one of the country's leading chamber music ensembles.

The Avalon has performed in major venues including Carnegie Hall, Alice Tully Hall, the 92nd St Y, Merkin Hall, and Bargemusic in New York; the Library of Congress and National Gallery of Art in Washington DC; Wigmore Hall in London; and Herculessaal in Munich. Other performances include appearances at the Bath International Music Festival, Aldeburgh Festival, Caramoor, La Jolla Chamber Music Society, NPR's St. Paul Sunday, Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum, Dame Myra Hess Concerts, Los Angeles Music Guild, and the Ravinia Festival. The quartet performs an annual concert series in historic Fullerton Hall at the Art Institute of Chicago, where it has presented the complete quartet cycles of Beethoven, Bartok, and Brahms in recent seasons.

The Avalon is quartet-in-residence at the Northern Illinois University School of Music, a position formerly held by the Vermeer Quartet. Additional teaching activities have included the Icicle Creek Chamber Music Institute, Interlochen Advanced Quartet Program, Madeline Island Music Camp, and the Britten-Pears School in England, as well as masterclasses at universities and conservatories throughout the United States. Additionally, they have given numerous performances and presentations to young audiences in under-resourced schools and communities.

In summer 2015, the quartet will be releasing Illuminations, it's first recording for Cedille Records. This follows a critically acclaimed CD of contemporary American works on the Albany label in 2010. The Avalon String Quartet's debut CD, Dawn to Dusk, featuring quartets by Ravel and Janacek, was honored with the 2002 Chamber Music America/WQXR Record Award for best chamber music recording.

The quartet's live performances and conversations are frequently featured on Chicago fine arts radio station WFMT. They have also been heard on New York's WQXR and WNYC, National Public Radio's Performance Today, Canada's CBC, Australia's ABC, the ARD of Germany, and France Musique.

The Avalon captured the top prize at the ARD Competition in Munich (2000) and First Prize at the Concert Artists Guild Competition in New York (1999). In its early years, the ensemble trained intensively with the Juilliard Quartet at The Juilliard School, the Emerson Quartet at the Hartt School of Music, and the Vermeer Quartet at Northern Illinois University.

Booklet for Matthew Quayle: String Quartets Nos. 1-3

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO