Plain Spoken John Mellencamp

Cover Plain Spoken

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Troubled Man04:14
  • 2Sometimes There's God04:34
  • 3The Isolation Of Mister05:35
  • 4The Company Of Cowards03:52
  • 5Tears In Vain03:53
  • 6The Brass Ring05:37
  • 7Freedom Of Speech03:53
  • 8Blue Charlotte04:40
  • 9The Courtesy Of Kings03:33
  • 10Lawless Times03:52
  • Total Runtime43:43

Info for Plain Spoken

Grammy-Gewinner John Mellencamp hat bereits die Herzen der Musikliebhaber weltweit auf seinen Tours erobert. Nun schlägt der 62-jährige Rock- und Folksänger ein weiteres unvergleichliches Kapitel in seiner Karriere auf und präsentiert nach dem 2011 erschienen 'Not Better Than This' das Album 'Plain Spoken'.

Bereits zuvor präsentierte Mellencamp die Lead-Single 'Troubled Man'. Auf dem Album dürfen sich alle Folk-Fans auf weitere Highlights das harmonische 'The Isolation Of Mister' oder das gitarrendominierte 'Tears In Vain' freuen. Das Album enthält zehn elegante und tiefgründige Americana-Perlen, auf denen John, die 'Stimme aus dem Herzen Amerikas', sein Talent eindrucksvoll unter Beweis stellt.

'Seinen Einstieg beim Universal-Sublabel Republic Records, den man ihm laut 'Billboard' mit einem lebenslangen Plattenvertrag versüßt hat, begeht John Mellencamp mit zehn Eigenkompositionen, auf denen er seine Singer / Songwriter-Qualitäten nachdrücklich unter Beweis stellen kann.' (Good Times)

John Mellencamp, guitars, vocals
Mike Wanchic, acoustic guitar, electric guitar
Andy York, acoustic guitar, electric guitar
T-Bone Burnett, electric guitar
Miriam Sturm, violin
Troye Kinnett, keyboards
Dane Clark, drums

Recorded in 2014 at Belmont Mall Studio in Belmont, Indiana
Engineered by Mike Piersante
Produced by John Mellencamp

John Mellencamp
Born October 7, 1951 in Seymour, Indiana, John Mellencamp fell in love with music at an early age and was gigging in local bars and fronting a soul band by the time he was 14. His professional music career began in earnest in 1976 when MCA Records released his first album, The Chestnut Street Incident. His manager dubbed him Johnny Cougar out of his belief that nobody would buy a record by anybody named Mellencamp. John protested but was overruled and eventually, of course, reclaimed his birth name as his public name.

After releasing a few albums, he broke out in 1979 with his first hit, "I Need A Lover" In 1982 his fifth album American Fool was the year's best-selling album on the strength of two huge hits, "Hurts So Good," and the number 1 single "Jack & Diane,"

The albums that followed in the 80's, Uh-Huh, Scarecrow, Lonesome Jubilee, and Big Daddy, were released under the name John Cougar Mellencamp. Hit singles during this period included "Crumblin Down," "The Authority Song," "Small Town," "Rain On The Scarecrow," "Lonely Ol Night," ""R.O.C.K. In The U.S.A.," "Paper In Fire," "Check It Out," "Cherry Bomb," "Pop Singer," and "Jackie Brown."

Mellencamp took the music on the road with a band that many considered the best in the business, playing approximately 1,000 shows around the globe during the decade. In 1985, John's concern for the plight of the American farmer, which had been voiced in the Scarecrow album, brought him together with Willie Nelson and Neil Young in launching Farm Aid. It became an annual event and has helped make people aware of the issues farmers face and how they affect on the entire nation.

By the early 1990's "Cougar" was finally gone from John's name and a string of successful albums as John Mellencamp--Whenever We Wanted, Human Wheels and Dance Naked (including the number 2 single "Wild Night")--were released. In 1991 John made his film debut, starring in and directing Falling From Grace, a modest box office success that was well received by critics.

John suffered a mild heart attack while touring in 1994 in support of Dance Naked. This forced him to take a break from his music career, but he returned strong in 1996 and released Mr. Happy Go Lucky, which featured the hit "Key West Intermezzo" (I Saw You First). Healthier and happier, he returned to touring in 1997 and continued to write and record frequently. Releases included 1998's John Mellencamp, 1999's Rough Harvest, 2001's Cuttin Heads, and 2003's Trouble No More . Hit singles during that time ranged from "Your Life Is Now" to "I'm Not Running Anymore" to "Peaceful World." John continued to tour throughout 1999, 2001, 2002, 2005 and 2006.

He received the 2001 Billboard Century award in recognition of all that he had accomplished over the course of his career and was honored with the Woody Guthrie Award in 2004. Previously, he was awarded a Grammy and had been nominated a total of 11 times. In 2007 the ASCAP Foundation honored John Mellencamp with its Champion Award in recognition of his outstanding use of music in service to humanity. Other recipients of this prestigious award have included Tony Bennett, Billy Joel and Arlo Guthrie. He was honored by The Americana Music Association with it's Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting three years later with the award presented in Nashville by Rosanne Cash. He was recognized with the John Steinbeck Award by San Jose State University's Steinbeck Center. The award, subtitled "In The Souls of the People," is given to individuals who have contributed to society in the spirit of the author John Steinbeck. Other recipients have included Arthur Miller, Sean Penn, Michael Moore, Bruce Springsteen, Ken Burns, Joan Baez, Sean Penn and Studs Terkel. John was presented with the award at a program of song and conversation at San Jose's historic California Theatre in July of 2012. Visit:

Booklet for Plain Spoken

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO