Cover Exclusive

Album info



Label: Footprint Records

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 12.80
  • Sofia Söderberg (b. 1972):
  • 1Badhusintro03:35
  • Traditional, Sofia Söderberg:
  • 2Limu, limu, lima (Arr. S. Söderberg)04:32
  • 3Hårgalåten (Arr. S. Söderberg)04:09
  • Kosaku Yamada (1886 - 1965), John Newton (1725 - 1807), Sofia Söderberg:
  • 4Amazing Grace - Akatonbo (Arr. S. Söderberg)04:15
  • Sofia Söderberg:
  • 5Serenade (After J.A. Josephson)03:22
  • Peter Bruun:
  • 6Peace07:20
  • Christian Engquist:
  • 7It Is So Peaceful Here Now10:25
  • Henrik Dahlgren:
  • 8Son to Mother06:50
  • Emil Fredberg:
  • 9Close to Home04:25
  • Sofia Söderberg:
  • 10Kyrie03:17
  • 11Ave Maria03:29
  • Knut Nystedt:
  • 12Salve Regina, Op. 156a06:12
  • Traditional:
  • 13Härlig är jorden04:38
  • Total Runtime01:06:29

Info for Exclusive

Footprint Records is proud to present an album from one of Sweden’s most remarkable vocal ensembles. Twenty years after its founding in the University town of Lund, the Svanholm Singers has become known inside Sweden and beyond for its unique sound: refined, joyous, razor-sharp and ultra-flexible. In Exclusive, conductor Sofia Soderberg and her 20 male singers present the fruits of their quest to expand the male voice choir repertoire with a selection of works written especially for the ensemble. Among them are original works and arrangements by Soderberg herself and by leading composers from Sweden and beyond. This highly engaging, atmospheric collection takes its inspiration from choral foundation stones, including traditional Swedish folk song and Gregorian chant. But everything we hear is new, literally and expressively- direct, accessible and delivered in the choir’s uniquely charismatic style. Included are encounters with the supernatural, a letter from a son to a mother, a traditional American hymn with a Japanese twist, songs of protest and warning, and frolicking dances full of rhythmic zest. The Svanholm Singers’s distinctive combination of passion and precision is captured in high-definition on this album, released on the occasion of the ensemble’s 20th anniversary year. It is a snapshot of a choir that sounds like none other through music that wouldn’t exist without it.

”In the mid- to late 1800s, there was a golden age for men’s choirs in Sweden by way of our universities, which means that most of our country’s repertoire originated during that period. It is certainly an interesting challenge for artistic directors to establish a repertoire that is timely, moving, and that deals with issues that are important to us today. Over the years, I’ve composed a great deal of our material, but we’ve also had commissioned pieces. This disc includes a selection of these works created with our choir in mind, the Svanholm Singers Exclusive.” (Sofia Söderberg)

Svanholm Singers
Söderberg-Eberhard, conductor

No albums found.

No biography found.

Booklet for Exclusive

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO