Janáček: Piano Works Natalia Sokolovskaya

Album info



Label: OnClassical

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Natalia Sokolovskaya

Composer: Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 12.50
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928): On the Overgrown Path, JW VIII/17:
  • 1No. 1, Our Evenings03:25
  • 2No. 2, A Blown-Away Leaf02:18
  • 3No. 3, Come Along with Us!01:12
  • 4No. 4, The Madonna of Frýdek03:04
  • 5No. 5, They Chattered like Swallows02:19
  • 6No. 6, Words Failed Me01:55
  • 7No. 7, Good Night!03:38
  • 8No. 8, So Unutterably Anxious03:05
  • 9No. 9, In Tears03:04
  • 10No. 10, The Little Owl Continues Screeching03:59
  • 11No. 11, Andante02:55
  • 12No. 12, Allegretto02:25
  • 13No. 13, Più mosso02:33
  • 14No. 14, Vivo02:29
  • 15No. 15, Allegro03:59
  • Piano Sonata 1.X.1905, JW VIII/19:
  • 16I. Foreboding05:52
  • 17II. Death07:43
  • In the Mists, JW VIII/22:
  • 18I. Andante03:55
  • 19II. Molto adagio05:04
  • 20III. Andantino02:48
  • 21IV. Presto04:52
  • Total Runtime01:12:34

Info for Janáček: Piano Works

The Sonáta 'pro klavír' „I. X. 1905, Z ulice“, JW 8/19 (Piano Sonata “1 October 1905, From the Street” in E minor, JW 8/19, 1905) was inspired by the tragic and violent death of a protester during a demonstration calling for the construction of a new Czech university. Janacek drew inspiration from this deeply traumatising event, resulting in his only piano sonata. Although not entirely pianistic, it contains strong elements of drama and originality.

Janácek’s piano cycle 'V mlhách', JW 8/22 (In the Mists, 1912) contains elements of the intimate, personal and emotionally immediate music from the borders of eastern and western Europe, coming from the fiddles and cimbalom (hammered dulcimer) of Moravian folk music, as well as its use of melodic fragments, reiterated and altered in various ways. In the composer’s use of harmonic colour, however, there is more than a hint of Debussy-like impressionism, but the context is purely Czech.

The first five pieces of the two sets 'Po zarostlém chodnícku', JW 8/17 ('On an Overgrown Path', 1901–1908) were composed around 1900, for harmonium. The first set of ten was completed in 1908. The pieces, as Janácek wrote, "contain distant reminiscences. Those reminiscences are so dear to me that I do not think they will ever vanish." Some of these memories are clearly happy, others extremely sad.

Natalia Sokolovskaya is a very refined and elegant young Russian pianist, winner of several international competitions and active as a concertist pianist and organizer.

Natalia Sokolovskaya, piano

Natalia Sokolovskaya
Born in Astrakhan. She graduated from the Moscow Conservatory studying piano under Prof. Yuri Slesarev and also composition (2013). She is continuing studies at the Royal College of Music in London under Prof. Norma Fisher and at the École Normale de Musique Alfred Cortot in Paris under Prof. Marian Rybicki. In 2013 she won two international piano competitions in Spain, the Ricardo Viñes Competition in Lleida and the Maria Herrero Competition in Granada, as well as the Dudley Yamaha International Competition in Birmingham (UK). Since her début as a solo recitalist (in 2003), she has performed in Russia, Europe, Australia, and the UK. She has performed with the symphony orchestras of Kharkov, Yaroslavl, and Astrakhan.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO