Bach: Partita & Concertos Jörg Halubek, Il Gusto Barocco

Album info



Label: Berlin Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Artist: Jörg Halubek, Il Gusto Barocco

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.90
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750): Flute Partita, BWV 1013:
  • 1Bach: Flute Partita, BWV 1013: I. Allemande06:19
  • Triple Concerto, BWV 1044:
  • 2Bach: Triple Concerto, BWV 1044: I. Allegro09:04
  • 3Bach: Triple Concerto, BWV 1044: II. Adagio ma non tanto e dolce06:00
  • 4Bach: Triple Concerto, BWV 1044: III. Alla breve07:10
  • Flute Partita, BWV 1013:
  • 5Bach: Flute Partita, BWV 1013: II. Courante04:28
  • Orchestral Suite No. 2, BWV 1067:
  • 6Bach: Orchestral Suite No. 2, BWV 1067: I. Ouverture10:38
  • 7Bach: Orchestral Suite No. 2, BWV 1067: II. Rondeau01:38
  • 8Bach: Orchestral Suite No. 2, BWV 1067: III. Sarabande03:05
  • 9Bach: Orchestral Suite No. 2, BWV 1067: IV. Bourée I + II02:14
  • 10Bach: Orchestral Suite No. 2, BWV 1067: V. Polonaise03:55
  • 11Bach: Orchestral Suite No. 2, BWV 1067: Vi. Menuet00:50
  • 12Bach: Orchestral Suite No. 2, BWV 1067: VII. Badinerie01:25
  • Flute Partita, BWV 1013:
  • 13Bach: Flute Partita, BWV 1013: III. Sarabande04:34
  • Harpsichord Concerto, BWV 1055:
  • 14Bach: Harpsichord Concerto, BWV 1055: I. Allegro04:19
  • 15Bach: Harpsichord Concerto, BWV 1055: II. Larghetto04:55
  • 16Bach: Harpsichord Concerto, BWV 1055: III. Allegro ma non tanto04:22
  • Flute Partita, BWV 1013:
  • 17Bach: Flute Partita, BWV 1013: IV. Bourée anglaise03:17
  • Total Runtime01:18:13

Info for Bach: Partita & Concertos

Introducing Il Gusto Barocco's latest album, a new approach to Baroque music. Each ensemble member is given a platform to showcase their talents as a soloist, choosing their own program and interpreting the selected works in a very special way. Director Jörg Halubek believes in the concept of "extended chamber music," where players must always think and perform as soloists while still valuing the importance of ensemble playing. The members of Il Gusto Barocco all studied at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, which has led to a shared aesthetic background. The ensemble's goal is to bring the music to life and not impose their own personal listening habits on the audience. Flautist Claire Genewein performs Johann Sebastian Bach's Flute Partita in A minor on the album, playing it without bass accompaniment, as Bach most likely intended. This recording offers a unique interpretation, especially regarding playing speeds, that sets it apart from others. Il Gusto Barocco's latest album is a must-listen for fans of Baroque music looking for a fresh take on the genre.

Jörg Halubek, conductor, harpsichord
Il Gusto Barocco

Jörg Halubek
studied church music, organ and harpsichord in Stuttgart and Freiburg with Jon Laukvik and Robert Hill. At the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, he specialized in period performance practice with Jesper Christensen and Andrea Marcon. He won first prize in the 2014 International Johann Sebastian Bach Competition in Leipzig in the Organ category.

In recent years, Jörg Halubek appeared in the first place as “Maestro al Cembalo”. As guest artist, Jörg Halubek directed from the harpsichord at such venues as the Komische Oper Berlin, Nationaltheater Mannheim, the Handel Festival in Halle, Innsbruck’s Festival Weeks of Early Music, the Wuppertal Opera and the Stuttgart Liederhalle. As guest conductor since 2012 at Kassel’s Staatstheater he is regularly in charge of opera productions, directing such works as Mozart’s “Lucio Silla”, Gluck’s “Iphigénie” and Handel’s “Saul”. His particular concern is for the dramatic relevance of the historical material and he is a strong advocate of making full use of early music’s freedoms in one’s interpretation.

Directing Il Gusto Barocco, the Baroque ensemble he founded, he was invited to bring it to the 2019 Bach Week in Ansbach as festival orchestra and was very well received. 2021 promises the continuation with “L’Orfeo” of the Mannheim Monteverdi cycle he began with Il Gusto Barocco in 2017. Jörg Halubek has extended his discoveries of forgotten operas and opera arrangements, documented in the recent CD release of his premiere recording of Johann David Heinichen’s “Flavio Crispo”, with his 2020 concertante staging of “Cleofida” – Handel’s opera “Poro, Re dell’Indie” in the arrangement by Georg Philipp Telemann with German-language recitatives – in Stuttgart’s Wilhelma-Theater and at the Early Music Days in Herne.

His expertise in the field of early music is well demonstrated by his prizewinning recordings of works for keyboard instruments and violin by Johann Sebastian Bach (2016) and Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (2014) with Baroque violinist Leila Schayegh. Jörg Halubek has been Professor for Organ and Historical Keyboard Instruments at the Stuttgart Musikhochschule since 2016.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO