Album info



Label: Cedille

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 13.50
  • Jacques Offenbach (1819 - 1880):
  • 1Les contes d'Hoffmann: Belle nuit, ô nuit d'amour "Barcarolle"03:43
  • Léo Delibes (1836 - 1891):
  • 2Lakmé: Sous le dôme épais "Flower Duet"05:52
  • Engelbert Humperdinck (1854 - 1921):
  • 3Hänsel und Gretel: Abends, will ich schlafen gehn "Evening Prayer"04:29
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791):
  • 4Così fan tutte, K. 588: Ah guarda, sorella04:13
  • 5Così fan tutte, K. 588: Soave sia il vento03:09
  • Fernando Obradors (1897 - 1945), arr. Joe Clark:
  • 6Del cabello más sutil (Arr. J. Clark for 2 Voices & Orchestra)02:56
  • Gabriel Fauré (1845 - 1924),arr. Joe Clark:
  • 72 Songs, Op. 46: No. 2, Clair de lune (Arr. J. Clark for 2 Voices & Orchestra)03:32
  • Traditional, arr. Joe Clark:
  • 8Black Is the Color of My True Love's Hair (Arr. J. Clark for 2 Voices & Orchestra)03:52
  • Charles Gounod (1818 - 1893) after Bach, arr. Joe Clark:
  • 9Ave Maria (Arr. J. Clark for 2 Voices & Orchestra)02:24
  • Traditional, arr. Joe Clark:
  • 10There Is a Balm in Gilead (Arr. J. Clark for 2 Voices & Orchestra)04:00
  • 11Oh, What a Beautiful City (Arr. J. Clark for 2 Voices & Orchestra)02:27
  • 12Ain't That Good News (Arr. J. Clark for 2 Voices & Orchestra)02:26
  • 13Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child (Arr. J. Clark for 2 Voices & Orchestra)04:13
  • 14He's Got the Whole World in His Hands (Arr. J. Clark for 2 Voices & Orchestra)01:53
  • Total Runtime49:09

Info for Sisters in Song

Nicole Cabell and Alyson Cambridge, acclaimed sopranos and close friends, record together for the first time on an album of opera duets by Mozart, Offenbach, Humperdinck, and Delibes and specially commissioned duet arrangements of classical songs, folk tunes, and African-American spirituals.

Cabell, 2005 winner of the BBC Cardiff Singer of the World Competition, is “a faultlessly gleaming soprano” (Financial Times). Cambridge is “radiant, vocally assured . . . and artistically imaginative” (Washington Post), known for her “revelatory, sensual, smoky readings” (Opera News). Joining them in the “Soave sia il vento” trio from Mozart’s Così fan tutte is the “mellow-voiced and charismatic” (New York Times) baritone Will Liverman. They’re accompanied on their Cedille debut by the Lake Forest Symphony under 2015 Sir Georg Solti Conducting Award winner Vladimir Kulenovic.

Inspired by opera stars Kathleen Battle & Jessye Norman’s spirituals recording from the early 1990s, the sopranos describe their album as a “dream project” that’s “uniquely us,” reflecting their multi-ethnic heritages and showcasing pieces that profoundly influenced them both. Composer-arranger Joe Clark, whose music has been performed by Reneé Fleming, Yo-Yo Ma, and jazz singer Kurt Elling, among other classical, jazz, and pop artists, created arrangements expressly for Cabell and Cambridge’s distinctive voices.

"The program . . . allows a wonderful opportunity for the singers to meld their voices together . . . Winners all, in arrangements that allow both Alyson and Nicole to register their distinctive styles and vocal color to best advantage." (Phil Muse Atlanta Audio Club)

Alyson Cambridge, soprano
Nicole Cabell, soprano
Will Liverman, baritone
Lake Forest Symphony
Vladimir Kulenovic, conductor

Alyson Cambridge
American soprano Alyson Cambridge, hailed by critics as “radiant, vocally assured, dramatically subtle and compelling, and artistically imaginative” (Washington Post), noted for her “powerful, clear voice” (New York Times) and “revelatory, sensual, smoky readings” (Opera News) is one of the most diverse and compelling vocal artists on the scene today. Her rich, warm soprano, combined with her strikingly beautiful stage presence and affecting musical and dramatic interpretation, have brought her over a decade of successes on the world’s leading opera and concert stages, including The Metropolitan Opera, Lyric Opera of Chicago, Washington National Opera, Los Angeles Opera, Carnegie Hall, London’s Royal Albert Hall, Deutsche Oper Berlin, Vienna Konzerthaus, among others, as well as recent debuts Paris , Warsaw, Beijing, and other musical capitals throughout Europe and Asia. Her repertoire includes the beloved heroines of Puccini, Verdi, and Mozart (Mimi, Madama Butterfly, Donna Elvira, Violetta, and Micaëla among them) as well as successful forays into the crossover, Broadway and jazz repertoire, most notably with award-winning and critically-acclaimed performances of Julie in SHOW BOAT and Vi in Gershwin’s rarely performed jazz-opera BLUE MONDAY. Alyson's debut album, “FROM THE DIARY OF SALLY HEMINGS,” a song-cycle by acclaimed American composer William Bolcom, premiered at Carnegie Hall’s Weill Recital Hall to rave reviews, and her newest album, "UNTIL NOW", a mix of jazz, pop, and musical theater standards was released in January 2016 on the Naxos imprint Suite 28 Records. ​

Engagements for the 2017-18 season and beyond include several operatic role debuts, as well as her Broadway debut in ROCKTOPIA, a new classical duets album recording, ”Sisters In Song”, with soprano Nicole Cabell, and a tour of her jazz/crossover album “Until Now”. Alyson will return to The Metropolitan Opera and Florentine Opera for her role debuts as Hanna in THE MERRY WIDOW, and debut with Opera Carolina and Toledo Opera in the title role of CARMEN. Concert engagements include “A Night at the Opera” concert performances with the Lake Forest Symphony, a solo concert with the Milwaukee Symphony, a recital with The Laguna Beach Music Festival, and a New York recital performance of “From the Diary of Sally Hemings”. ​

As part of Ms. Cambridge’s personal mission, and with a strong desire to give back and make an impact beyond the traditional confines of the theater, she lends her time and talent to charities and causes close to her heart, including The Fresh Air Fund, Sing for Hope, The Humane Society, K9s for Warriors, Hope For Hearts Foundation and American Red Cross. And, as a model, former athlete and fitness enthusiast, with a penchant for fashion, she has been able enjoy collaborations with designers and other lifestyle companies for her concert performances, ad campaigns, and off-stage appearances.

Nicole Cabell
made her Royal Opera debut in 2006 as Princesse Eudoxie (La Juive in concert at the Barbican) and has since returned to sing Musetta (La bohème), Léïla (Les Pêcheurs de perles in concert) and Violetta Valéry (La traviata).

Cabell grew up in California. She studied singing at Eastman School of Music, the Juilliard School, and on the Chicago Lyric Opera Center for American Artists (now the Ryan Opera Center). She won the 2005 BBC Cardiff Singer of the World Competition, which led to her London debut at the 2005 BBC Proms singing Les Illuminations. She performs for such opera companies as the Metropolitan Opera, New York, Lyric Opera of Chicago, San Francisco Opera, Deutsche Oper Berlin, Paris Opéra, Liceu, Barcelona, Santa Fe Opera, Cincinnati Opera, Atlanta Opera and Lyric Opera of Kansas City. Her repertory includes Countess Almaviva (Le nozze di Figaro), Donna Elvira (Don Giovanni), Pamina (Die Zauberflöte), Adina (L’elisir d’amore), Giulietta (I Capuleti e i Montecchi), Micaëla (Carmen), Juliette (Roméo et Juliette), Mimì (La bohème) and Bess and Clara (Porgy and Bess).

Cabell appears regularly in concert with leading orchestras worldwide, including the BBC Symphony Orchestra, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and London Symphony Orchestra. Her large concert repertory includes Beethoven’s Symphony no.9, Mahler’s symphonies no.2 and no.4, the Vier letzte Lieder, The Apostles, Poulenc’s Stabat mater and Gloria, A Child of Our Time, Shéhérazade, The Symphony of Sorrowful Songs and Honey and Rue.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO