Once Upon a Time… Fairy Tales by Robert Schumann & Jörg Widmann Tabea Zimmermann, Jörg Widmann, Dénes Várjon

Cover Once Upon a Time… Fairy Tales by Robert Schumann & Jörg Widmann

Album info



Label: Myrios Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Tabea Zimmermann, Jörg Widmann, Dénes Várjon

Composer: Robert Schumann (1810–1856), Jörg Widmann (1973)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 192 $ 15.80
  • Robert Schumann (1810 - 1856): Märchenerzählungen, Op. 132:
  • 1Schumann: Märchenerzählungen, Op. 132: I. Lebhaft, nicht zu schnell03:04
  • 2Schumann: Märchenerzählungen, Op. 132: II. Lebhaft und sehr markiert03:21
  • 3Schumann: Märchenerzählungen, Op. 132: III. Ruhiges Tempo mit zartem Ausdruck04:18
  • 4Schumann: Märchenerzählungen, Op. 132: IV. Lebhaft, sehr markiert04:59
  • Fantasiestücke, Op. 73:
  • 5Schumann: Fantasiestücke, Op. 73: I. Zart und mit Ausdruck03:38
  • 6Schumann: Fantasiestücke, Op. 73: II. Lebhaft, leicht03:30
  • 7Schumann: Fantasiestücke, Op. 73: III. Rasch und mit Feuer04:09
  • Märchenbilder, Op. 113:
  • 8Schumann: Märchenbilder, Op. 113: I. Nicht schnell03:17
  • 9Schumann: Märchenbilder, Op. 113: II. Lebhaft03:41
  • 10Schumann: Märchenbilder, Op. 113: III. Rasch02:37
  • 11Schumann: Märchenbilder, Op. 113: IV. Langsam, mit melancholischem Ausdruck05:30
  • Jörg Widmann (b. 1973): Es war einmal… Fünf Stücke im Märchenton:
  • 12Widmann: Es war einmal… Fünf Stücke im Märchenton: I. Es war einmal…05:37
  • 13Widmann: Es war einmal… Fünf Stücke im Märchenton: II. Fata Morgana06:22
  • 14Widmann: Es war einmal… Fünf Stücke im Märchenton: III. Die Eishöhle02:59
  • 15Widmann: Es war einmal… Fünf Stücke im Märchenton: IV. Von Mädchen und Prinzen06:47
  • 16Widmann: Es war einmal… Fünf Stücke im Märchenton: V. Und wenn sie nicht gestorben sind06:31
  • Total Runtime01:10:20

Info for Once Upon a Time… Fairy Tales by Robert Schumann & Jörg Widmann

Once Upon a Time... – Like many other composers of the Romantic era, Robert Schumann found inspiration in the power of fantasy. This program includes his depictions of classic fairy tales in Märchenbilder, the Fantasy Pieces Op. 73, and Märchenerzählungen, as well as a contemporary take on the subject by Jörg Widmann, included in this album as a world premiere recording. The clarinetist and composer is joined by Tabea Zimmermann and Dénes Várjon.

Tabea Zimmermann, Jörg Widmann and Dénes Várjon have known each other for a long time. Since their debut as a trio ensemble in May 2011 at Vienna‘s Konzerthaus, they enjoy playing together on a regular basis. Being highly sought-after soloists who play with the world‘s most reknowned orchestras and conductors, all three share a passion for chamber music, whether as a permanent trio or with other musical partners.

"The first movement of Widmann’s piece has fragments in Schumannesque style floating in and out of focus…It’s an altogether impressive work, and Widmann is joined in this premiere recording by two ideal colleagues…Altogether, a fascinating programme, superbly played and recorded." (BBC Music Magazine)

"an irresistible collection of music depicting fairy stories...Widmann’s spiky, delicate, musical ghost tales, in this world premiere recording, make a mysterious, unsettling contrast [to the Schumann]. Ideal fireside listening, beautifully packaged." (The Observer9

Tabea Zimmermann, viola
Jörg Widmann, clarinet
Dénes Várjon, piano

Tabea Zimmermann
who considers herself “a musician who plays the viola”, is one of the most popular and renowned artists of our time. Audiences and fellow musicians value her charismatic personality and deep musical understanding.

As a soloist she regularly performs with the most distinguished orchestras worldwide, guided by the ideals of her experience as a chamber musician, where artistic integrity is paramount. She was recently named Artist-in-Residence of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam and of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Tabea Zimmermann has inspired numerous composers to write for the viola and has introduced many new works into the standard concert and chamber music repertoire. Since 2009, she has been recording for the myrios classics label. The seven albums previously released have been highly acclaimed by both listeners and the music press, and have been honored – without any exception – with the most important international record awards, including two ECHO Klassik, one OPUS Klassik, two Diapason d’Or de l’année and the ICMA (International Classical Music Award).

For her tireless enthusiasm to communicate her love of music to her audience and her uncompromisingly high quality standard, Tabea Zimmermann has been awarded the German Federal Cross of Merit in 2018, and was named winner of the international Ernst von Siemens Music Prize in 2020.

Tabea Zimmermann received her first viola lessons at the age of three, two years later she began to play the piano. In the beginning, she received significant inspiration from her first teacher Dietmar Mantel. She studied with Ulrich Koch at the Freiburg Conservatory of Music and subsequently with Sándor Vegh at the Mozarteum Salzburg. Following her studies, she received several awards at international competitions, amongst them first prizes at the 1982 Geneva International Competition, the 1983 Maurice Vieux Competition in Paris and the 1984 Budapest International Competition. From 1987 until his early death in 2000, Tabea Zimmermann regularly performed with her husband, the conductor David Shallon. She has already held professorships at the Saarbrücken Conservatory of Music and at the Frankfurt Conservatory of Music. Since 2002 Tabea Zimmermann has been professor at the Conservatory of Music "Hanns Eisler" in Berlin.

Booklet for Once Upon a Time… Fairy Tales by Robert Schumann & Jörg Widmann

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO