Ford, Bruce: Viennese Operetta (Sung in English) Bruce Ford

Album info



Label: Chandos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 16.70
  • Franz Lehár (1870 - 1948): Das Land des Lächelns: Das Land des Lachelns, Act II:
  • 1You are my heart's delight (Dein ist mein ganzes Herz)03:53
  • Jacques Offenbach (1819 - 1880): La belle Hélène: La belle Helene, Act I:
  • 2On Mount Ida (Au Mont ida)03:47
  • Johann Strauss II (1825 - 1899): Der Zigeunerbaron, Act II:
  • 3Who made us one? (Wer uns getraut?)03:55
  • Emmerich Kálmán (1882 - 1953): Grafin Mariza (Countess Mariza) (Sung in English): Grafin Mariza, Act I:
  • 4Play gipsy (Komm, Zigan)05:41
  • Johann Strauss II (1825 - 1899): Eine Nacht in Venedig, Act III:
  • 5Love is a delicate flower (Ach, wie so herrlich zu schaun)03:14
  • Franz Lehár (1870 - 1948): Das Land des Lächelns: Das Land des Lachelns, Act I:
  • 6Patiently smiling (Immer nur lacheln)05:20
  • Johann Strauss II (1825 - 1899): Der Zigeunerbaron, Act I:
  • 7Since I was left an orphan lad (Als flotter Geist, doch fruth verwaist)02:58
  • Carl Zeller (1842 - 1898): Der Vogelhändler: Der Vogelhandler, Act II:
  • 8My old father years ago (Wie mein Ahn'l zwanzig Jahr)04:17
  • Robert Stolz (1880 - 1975): Das Lied ist aus (The Song is Over) (text by W. Reisch and A. Ronbinson): Das Lied ist aus:
  • 9Don't ask me why I'm leaving (Frag' nicht, warum ich gehe)04:41
  • Oscar Straus (1870 - 1954): Ein Walzertraum (A Waltz Dream): Ein Walzertraum, Act I:
  • 10Softly, so softly (Leise, ganz leise)04:53
  • Franz Lehár (1870 - 1948): Giuditta: Giuditta, Act I:
  • 11Comrades, this life is the life for me! (Fruende, das Leben is lebenswert!)03:23
  • Der Zarewitsch: Der Zarewitsch, Act I: Song:
  • 12Alone, always alone (Allein, immer allein)05:21
  • Emmerich Kálmán (1882 - 1953): Grafin Mariza (Countess Mariza) (Sung in English): Act II:
  • 13Heavens, what's happ'ning to me? (Herrgott, was ist denn heut' los?)03:27
  • Grafin Mariza (Countess Mariza) (Sung in English): Act I:
  • 14Vienna mine (Gruss mir mein Wien)04:19
  • Franz Lehár (1870 - 1948): Das Land des Lächelns: Das Land des Lachelns, Act III:
  • 15Love! What has given you this magic pow'r? (Wer hat die Liebe uns ins Herz geschenkt)06:15
  • Robert Stolz (1880 - 1975):
  • 16We met in Vienna, my true love and I (In Wein hab' ich einmal ein Madel geliebt)04:47
  • Franz Lehár (1870 - 1948): Die lustige Witwe: Die lustige Witwe (The Merry Widow), Act III:
  • 17Words forbidden (Lippen schweigen)03:20
  • Total Runtime01:13:31

Info for Ford, Bruce: Viennese Operetta (Sung in English)

Chandos and the Peter Moores Foundation have made an excellent job of incorporating an operetta volume into their Opera in English series. They offer some of the more testing and rewarding arias for an operetta tenor, and there are no terrors for Bruce Ford in the high notes of ‘You Are My Heart’s Delight’ or the vocal leaps of Paris’s aria from La belle Hélène. One soon adjusts to the slightly hard edge to Ford’s voice and warms to his enviable control of dynamics and expression. If anything is missing, it’s perhaps a touch of fun or devilry, though there is something of the latter in Kálmán’s ‘Play, gypsy’, which Ford makes another of the best things here. If previous tenors make more of individual numbers, few are more consistently admirable throughout a whole album.

What’s equally endearing is the strength of the supporting forces. There are full-blooded performances from orchestra and chorus, with idiomatic interpretations under a conductor steeped in the Viennese tradition, exotic instruments as required, and soprano and baritone contributions that ensure full authenticity and welcome variety.

If momentarily I raise an eyebrow at the inclusion in this ‘Viennese Operetta’ collection of one French aria and not one but two non-operetta items by Robert Stolz – one a Viennese song performed with authentic Schrammel-style accompaniment – it is justified by the delightful results achieved. Ford’s enunciation throughout is admirable, and the accompanying booklet fills in anything unclear in what’s being sung. In any language it’s a highly recommendable collection. (Gramophone)

"In any language it's a highly recommendable collection." (Gramophone)

Bruce Ford, tenor
Pieter Schoeman, violin
London Philharmonic Orchestra
Walter Weller, conductor

Bruce Ford
is firmly established as one of today’s most outstanding singers. He has earned high praise for extraordinary vocal beauty and range, textual vividness, authoritative style and technical prowess. He has recorded seventeen full-length operas for Opera Rara, including Otello, Ricciardo e Zoraide, Rosmonda d’Inghilterra, Maria Regina d’Inghilterra, Pia de Tolomei, to name but a few. In addition, Opera Rara has issued a recital disc, Romantic Heroes, featuring Bruce, as well as a compilation entitled ‘Bruce Ford-Serious Rossini’. He also appears on many of the discs in the ‘Il Salotto’ series. Born in the USA, he has spent most of his 22 year long career in the leading opera houses of Europe and America. After his highly acclaimed debut at Pesaro in 1990, he has sung at Covent Garden (Almaviva, Ferrando, Mitridate, Osiride, Tito), La Scala (Uberto in La Donna del Lago and Paolo Erisso in Maometto II), The Metropolitan Opera (Almaviva), the Paris Opera (Ferrando, Almaviva, Lindoro) and the Glyndebourne, Florence, Edinburgh and Salzburg Festivals. He has sung under Claudio Abbado, Wolfgang Sawallisch, Ricardo Muti, Ivor Bolton, Alberto Zedda, and numerous other well-known conductors.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO