Live At Leeds The Who

Album info



Label: Geffen Records

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Classic Rock

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Heaven And Hell05:17
  • 2I Can't Explain02:49
  • 3Fortune Teller03:02
  • 4Tattoo03:01
  • 5Young Man Blues06:07
  • 6Substitute03:10
  • 7Happy Jack02:14
  • 8I'm A Boy02:47
  • 9A Quick One, While He's Away14:11
  • 10Overture06:46
  • 11It's A Boy00:35
  • 12192102:26
  • 13Amazing Journey04:16
  • 14Sparks03:26
  • 15Eyesight To The Blind (The Hawker)01:59
  • 16Christmas03:19
  • 17The Acid Queen03:33
  • 18Pinball Wizard02:50
  • 19Do You Think It's Alright?00:22
  • 20Fiddle About01:13
  • 21Tommy Can You Hear Me?00:56
  • 22There's A Doctor00:23
  • 23Go To The Mirror!03:25
  • 24Smash The Mirror01:19
  • 25Miracle Cure00:13
  • 26Sally Simpson04:01
  • 27I'm Free02:39
  • 28Tommy's Holiday Camp01:01
  • 29We're Not Gonna Take It08:38
  • 30Summertime Blues03:35
  • 31Shakin' All Over05:52
  • 32My Generation16:21
  • 33Magic Bus08:01
  • Total Runtime02:09:47

Info for Live At Leeds

That line just about sums up the universal opinion of the first official live recording release by The Who. After repeated failed attempts on their '69-'70 UK Tommy tour, the hall on the campus of Leeds University was intentionally scheduled for the main purpose of recording a live album. The results, although only six selections from a much longer performance were used, were a triumph. Riding the crest of the Tommy album and their monumental appearance at the Woodstock Festival, the original quartet of Townshend, Daltrey, Entwhistle and Moon deliver a perfect mix.

'The best live rock album ever made.' – The New York Times, 1970

Pete Townshend, vocals, guitar
Roger Daltrey, vocals, harmonica
John Entwistle, vocals, bass
Keith Moon, drums

Recorded from 14 February 1970 at University Refectory at, the University of Leeds, in Leeds, West Riding of Yorkshire
Produced by Jon Astley, Kit Lambert and The Who

Digitally remastered

There are four names always on or near the top of the list of all time great Rock ‘n’ Roll bands: The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin and The Who.

The Who was formed by sheet-metal worker Roger Daltrey in 1963. The the line up, after a couple of adjustments, established itself with Daltrey on lead vocals, Keith Moon on drums, John Entwistle on bass and Pete Townshend on lead guitar. Townshend, honouring his art student credentials, wrote (and still writes) music famous for having an ‘edge’, complemented by the wildly creative performance techniques of each member of the band.

It is generally acknowledged among rock aficionados that The Who in their heyday were the most exciting live band on the planet, with their Live at Leeds album (1970) hailed as the greatest live album of all time. The compositional skills of Townshend have always been way beyond the conventional, as is proven not only in classic songs like ‘My Generation’ and ‘Baba O’Riley’ but also in his two great rock operas (a form he more or less invented single-handed) Tommy and Quadrophenia.

Today, despite the deaths of Keith Moon and John Entwistle, The Who remain a potent force on the rock music scene. Their Concert for New York City appearance after the tragedy of 9/11 was a classic, as have been their annual performances at the Royal Albert Hall in aid of the Teenage Cancer Trust. In 2006, Pete Townshend wrote The Who’s first studio album for the new millennium, Endless Wire and the band toured Europe and the U.S. during 2006 and 2007.

The Who are still highly active, with Townshend continuing to write and seek new musical challenges and Daltrey still the charismatic frontman he’s always been. The Who have recently launched their very first official website,

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO