Mendelssohn Quatuor Arod

Cover Mendelssohn

Album info



Label: Erato/Warner Classics, Warner Classics UK Ltd

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Quatuor Arod

Composer: Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809 - 1847):
  • 1String Quartet No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 44 No. 2: I. Allegro assai appassionato09:45
  • 2String Quartet No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 44 No. 2: II. Scherzo. Allegro di molto03:39
  • 3String Quartet No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 44 No. 2: III. Andante - attaca06:17
  • 4String Quartet No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 44 No. 2: IV. Presto agitato06:06
  • 5String Quartet No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 13: I. Adagio - Allegro vivace07:44
  • 6String Quartet No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 13: II. Adagio non lento08:23
  • 7String Quartet No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 13: III. Intermezzo04:58
  • 8String Quartet No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 13: IV. Presto - Adagio non lento09:43
  • 94 Pieces for String Quartet, Op. 81: I. Andante in E Major05:30
  • 104 Pieces for String Quartet, Op. 81: II. Scherzo in A Minor03:10
  • 114 Pieces for String Quartet, Op. 81: III. Capriccio in E Minor04:20
  • 124 Pieces for String Quartet, Op. 81: IV. Fugue in E-Flat Major04:48
  • 13Arr Aparailly: 12 Lieder, Op. 9: I. "Ist es wahr?" (Arr. Aparailly for String Quartet & Voice)01:54
  • Total Runtime01:16:17

Info for Mendelssohn

The Arod Quartet, founded just four years ago in Paris, makes its debut on Erato with an album of Mendelssohn, tracing his life through his works for string quartet. The composer has been important for the ensemble, not least by helping it win two major competitions.

The members of the Arod have been mentored by both the Ebène and Artemis Quartet, and they collaborate here with a further Erato artist, the mezzo-soprano Marianne Crebassa, in a performance of the song „Ist es wahr?“

Arod Quartet:
Jordan Victoria, violin
Alexandre Vu, violin
Corentin Apparailly, viola
Samy Rachid, cello
Marianne Crebassa, mezzo-soprano

Quatuor Arod Quartet
The Arod quartet was the grand prize winner of the European FNAPEC Chamber Music Competition held in February 2014. At the same time, it also won the special prize awarded by the Pro-Quartet-CEMC (The European Center of Chamber Music) to promising young quartets.

The Arod Quartet was founded in 2013 by four young musicians eager to share and develop their passion for chamber music. As graduate students at the Paris Conservatory of Music and Dance, they presently receive coaching from Jean Sulem, violist and founding member of the Rosamond Quartet. The quartet also continues to work with well known string ensembles such as the Debussy Quartet, the Ebene Quartet, the Diotima Quartet, and the Tokyo Quartet. The members frequently seek artistic advice from cellists François Salque and Jérôme Pernoo.

The Arod Qartet has also been present on the air waves. France Musique, a highly popular classical music station, recently featured the quartet's first recording of music by Beethoven and Brahms.

This energetic ensemble is regularily invited to participate in festivals such as Les Melusicales, Musique a Versaille, Novembre musical de Bonne, Les Cordes en Ballad, the Pontlovoy International Festival, the Debussy Festival, Festivale de Pentecote en Barry, le IN des Vacances de Monsieur Haydn, just to highlight a few.

The quartet recently shared the stage with artists such as clarinetists Michel Lethiec and Romain Guyot, pianists Claire Desert and François Chaplin, as well as the Debussy Quartet.

Beginning October 2014, the Arod Quartet has accepted an invitation by the Artemis Quartet to be in residence with them at the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel in Brussels.

Booklet for Mendelssohn

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO