Cover Salut d'amour

Album info



Label: BIS

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 12.80
  • Pablo de Sarasate (1844 - 1908):
  • 1Introduction et tarantelle, Op. 43 (Arr. for Violin & Piano)05:06
  • Edward Elgar (1857 - 1934):
  • 2Salut d'amour, Op. 1202:42
  • Fritz Kreisler (1875 - 1962):
  • 3La gitana03:19
  • 4Tambourin chinois, Op. 303:44
  • Gypsy Songs, Op. 55, B. 104:
  • 5Gypsy Songs, Op. 55, B. 104: No. 4, Songs My Mother Taught Me (Arr. F. Kreisler for Violin & Piano)02:43
  • Nathan Milstein (1904 - 1992):
  • 6Paganiniana08:34
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840 - 1893): Souvenir d'un lieu cher, Op. 42, TH 116:
  • 7Souvenir d'un lieu cher, Op. 42, TH 116: No. 3, Mélodie in E-Flat Major03:11
  • Henryk Wieniawski (1835 - 1880):
  • 8Scherzo tarantelle, Op. 1604:51
  • Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873 - 1943), Shin-Itchiro Yokoyama: 14 Romances, Op. 34:
  • 914 Romances, Op. 34: No. 14, Vocalise in C-Sharp Minor (Arr. S. Yokoyama for Violin & Piano)05:38
  • Fritz Kreisler, Manuel de Falla (1876 - 1946): La vida breve:
  • 10La vida breve: Danse espagnole No. 1 (Arr. F. Kreisler for Violin & Piano)03:24
  • Edwin Grasse (1884 - 1954):
  • 11Wellenspeil01:46
  • Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst (1812 - 1865):
  • 12The Last Rose of Summer "Polyphonic Study No. 6"09:42
  • Jascha Heifetz (1901 - 1987):
  • 13Contemplation (After Brahms' Op. 105 No. 1)02:48
  • Total Runtime57:28

Info for Salut d'amour

Sueye Park introduced herself to the general public in 2017 with no less a calling-card than Paganini’s 24 Caprices for solo violin. On the present disc, the South-Korean violinist (born in 2000) has a pianist on her side, namely Love Derwinger, himself known from a number of recordings. The repertoire is also a more varied offering this time, with violin favourites such as Elgar’s tender Salut d’amour and Tchaikovsky’s Mélodie, as well as more virtuosic fare, for instance in the fireworks of Wieniawski’s Scherzo-Tarantelle. Sueye also includes two solo works on the disc: Ernst’s much-loved Last Rose and – in a nod to her previous disc – Paganiniana, Nathan Milstein’s fantasy on themes by Paganini. Performed with equal measures of poetic sensitivity and effortless virtuosity, this is a recital to dip into as well as to listen to from start to finish – from the fiery passion of Pablo de Sarasate’s Introduction et Tarantelle to Contemplation, Heifetz’ transcription of Brahms’s song Wie Melodien zieht es mir.

Sueye Park, Violine
Love Derwinger, Klavier

Sueye Park
is one of the uprising talents of her generation.

Winning first prizes at national and international competitions, most recently at the International Spohr Competition in Weimar, her musical gifts were awarded from early age on.

Sueye was born in South Korea in 2000 and began studying violin at the age of 4. Since 2009, she is a student at the Hochschule für Musik “Hanns Eisler” in Berlin, studying with Prof.Ulf Wallin.

As a soloist, Sueye has performed with orchestras such as the Brandenburg Symphony, the Heidelberg Symphony, the Staatskapelle Weimar, the Bad Reichenhall Philharmonic and the Magdeburg Philharmonic. In 2011, she appeared as a soloist with the Komische Opera Orchestra in Berlin at the age 11.

She has taken part in various masterclasses such as the International Keshet Eilon masterclass in Israel, instructed by Ida Haendel and Ivry Gitlis. In 2016/17, Sueye has performed in various festivals in Spain, France, Italy, Switzerland and Germany (Schumann Festival in Zwickau).

She has recorded extensively for radio/TV in Korea, Israel, Spain, Sweden and Germany. Sueye has made a CD recording of all 24 Paganini Caprices for the CD label BIS and is scheduled to record a CD of encores for the CD label BIS in August 2017.

Sueye Park is awarded scholarships by the Jürgen Ponto Foundation of Commerzbank from 2013-2016 and by Hans und Stefan Bernbeck-Stiftung from 2017. In 2015, she won a violin by Nicolas Lupot at the Competition of Sinfonima Foundation for Instruments in Mannheim. She is currently playing on a Ferdinando Gagliano, Neapel in 1758.

Booklet for Salut d'amour

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO