Subaqueous Silence Ayumi Tanaka Trio

Cover Subaqueous Silence

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Ruins06:39
  • 2Black Rain04:52
  • 3Ruins II02:42
  • 4Ichi03:35
  • 5Zephyr03:04
  • 6Towards the Sea04:14
  • 7Subaqueous Silence09:25
  • Total Runtime34:31

Info for Subaqueous Silence

"Subaqueous Silence", pianist Ayumi Tanaka’s leader debut for ECM – following critically acclaimed releases with Thomas Strønen (Lucus, Bayou) – is a strikingly original statement. Tanaka met bassist Christian Meaas Svendsen and drummer Per Oddvar Johansen shortly after arriving in Oslo a decade ago and they have been developing their musical language together, exploring the implications of Ayumi’s compositions. Deep interest in the work of Norwegian improvisers prompted Tanaka’s move to the West, but she also speaks of a growing awareness of her own cultural roots; there is an ascetic rigour in her playing, as well as a sense of space suggesting affinities with Japanese classical music. Ayumi views the trio as “more like a chamber ensemble. We share a flow of energy, even in silence.” Per Oddvar Johansen’s subtle drumming has previously distinguished recordings with Trygve Seim, Christian Wallumrød and others. Christian Meaas Svendsen makes his first ECM appearance on Subaqueous Silence; his intensely expressive arco bass on “Black Rain” is among the album’s highlights.

Ayumi Tanaka, piano
Christian Meaas Svendsen, double bass
Per Oddvar Johansen, drums

Ayumi Tanaka
is a Japanese pianist and composer currently living in Norway. She leads the Ayumi Tanaka trio which debuted in 2016 with the album Memento. Later that year, she released her second album 3 pianos with another trio. In 2018, Ayumi went on to record under ECM Records as part of Thomas Strønen’s ensemble.

In April 2021, the album “Bayou” of the co-leading trio with Thomas Strønen and Marthe Lea will be released on ECM Records. The new album of Ayumi Tanaka Trio is expecting to be released later in the same year.

Ayumi continues to perform internationally with various ensembles including in Japan, India, Germany, Nordic countries, the US and Brazil. Ayumi holds Bachelors and Masters Degrees in Musical Performance in Jazz and Improvisation from the Norwegian Academy of Music. Ayumi began studying at Yamaha Music School from age 3 and when she was fifteen, won first prize in the Yamaha Junior Electone Competition.

Booklet for Subaqueous Silence

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO