Cover Nine Lessons & Carols

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Henry John Gauntlett, Arthur Henry Mann
  • 1Hymn: Once in Royal David's City04:40
  • Anonymous
  • 2Bidding Prayer, Lord's Prayer and Blessing03:26
  • English traditional
  • 3Herefordshire Carol02:34
  • Anonymous
  • 4First Lesson03:03
  • Boris Ord
  • 5Adam Lay Ybounden01:04
  • English traditional
  • 6A Virgin Most Pure02:54
  • Anonymous
  • 7Second Lesson01:03
  • Traditional, German Traditional
  • 8In Dulci Jubilo03:04
  • Peter Tranchell
  • 9If Ye Would Hear the Angels Sing02:25
  • Anonymous
  • 10Third Lesson01:08
  • English traditional
  • 11Sussex Carol01:58
  • English traditional
  • 12Hymn: God Rest You Merry, Gentlemen03:33
  • Anonymous
  • 13Fourth Lesson01:40
  • Otto Goldschmidt
  • 14A Tender Shoot01:41
  • Michael Praetorius
  • 15Det Är En Ros Utsprungen03:59
  • Anonymous
  • 16Fifth Lesson02:44
  • Pierre Villette
  • 17Hymne à la Vierge03:20
  • Peter Hurford
  • 18Sunny Bank01:41
  • Anonymous
  • 19Sixth Lesson01:15
  • Max Reger
  • 20Mariä Wiegenlied01:59
  • French Traditional
  • 21The Holly and the Ivy03:08
  • Anonymous
  • 22Seventh Lesson01:44
  • Este's Psalter
  • 23Hymn: While Shepherds Watched02:59
  • Judith Weir
  • 24Illuminare, Jerusalem02:19
  • Anonymous
  • 25Eighth Lesson03:04
  • Einojuhani Rautavaara
  • 26Christmas Carol04:54
  • XVI Century French
  • 27Ding! Dong! Merrily On High02:45
  • Anonymous
  • 28Ninth Lesson02:28
  • John Francis Wade
  • 29Hymn: O come, All Ye Faithful04:27
  • Anonymous
  • 30Collect and Blessing01:15
  • Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
  • 31Hymn: Hark! The Herald Angels Sing03:20
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
  • 32Organ Voluntary: In dulci jubilo, BWV 72902:51
  • Gabriel Jackson
  • 33The Christ Child04:40
  • Brett Dean
  • 34Now Comes the Dawn03:34
  • Mark-Anthony Turnage
  • 35Misere' Nobis02:44
  • Dominic Muldowney
  • 36Mary04:28
  • Jessica Davies
  • 37Christmas Eve06:00
  • John Rutter
  • 38All Bells in Paradise04:44
  • Total Runtime01:50:35

Info for Nine Lessons & Carols

With a TV and radio audience of millions, the annual broadcast of A Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols from King’s College, Cambridge is an essential Christmas tradition for families all over the world.

This double album faithfully recreates the magic of the service, opening with a lone treble singing ‘Once in royal David’s city’ and closing with a rousing chorus of ‘Hark! the herald angels sing’.

Each year the Director of Music at King’s, Stephen Cleobury, commissions a new carol. Several of these are included on the album, including carols by Einojuhani Rautavaara, Gabriel Jackson, Brett Dean, Mark-Anthony Turnage, Dominic Muldowney and Tansy Davies. In addition, John Rutter has written the new carol ‘All Bells in Paradise’ especially for this album.

The album reached #2 on the UK’s specialist classical chart in December 2012.

Ben-San Lau, organ
Choir of King's College Cambridge
Stephen Cleobury, conductor

No biography found.

Booklet for Nine Lessons & Carols

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO