This Was (50th Anniversary Edition - Steven Wilson Remastered Mix) Jethro Tull

Album info



Label: Parlophone UK

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Classic Rock

Artist: Jethro Tull

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1My Sunday Feeling03:42
  • 2Some Day The Sun Won't Shine For You02:49
  • 3Beggar's Farm04:22
  • 4Move On Alone01:59
  • 5Serenade To A Cuckoo06:08
  • 6Dharma For One04:15
  • 7It's Breaking Me Up05:03
  • 8Cat's Squirrel02:43
  • 9A Song For Jeffrey03:21
  • 10Round00:57
  • 11Love Story03:03
  • 12A Christmas Song03:08
  • 13Serenade To A Cuckoo (Take 1)05:46
  • 14Some Day The Sun Won't Shine For You (Faster Version)02:36
  • 15Move On Alone (Flute Version)02:00
  • 16Ultimate Confusion02:55
  • Total Runtime54:47

Info for This Was (50th Anniversary Edition - Steven Wilson Remastered Mix)

Recorded during the summer of 1968, This Was is the only Jethro Tull album to feature guitarist Mick Abrahams, who left the group shortly after the album came out to form Blodwyn Pig. The title of the album refers to the band moving away from its early blues-based sound, which was referenced in the original liner notes: “This was how we were playing then—but things change, don’t they?”

The album includes songs that have been in and out of Jethro Tull’s live show for 50 years, like “My Sunday Feeling” and “Beggar’s Farm.” Also featured are several bonus tracks: “Love Story,” “A Christmas Song,” “Sunshine Day” and “Aeroplane.”

Ian Anderson, lead vocals (all except track 4), flute, mouth organ, "claghorn", piano
Mick Abrahams, lead vocals (track 4), backing vocals, electric guitar, nine-string guitar
Glenn Cornick, bass
Clive Bunker, drums, percussion hooter, charm bracelet
Additional musicians:
David Palmer, French horn and orchestral arrangements

Recorded 13 June 1968 – 23 August 1968 at Sound Techniques, Chelsea, London
Produced by Terry Ellis, Jethro Tull

Digitally remastered

Jethro Tull
formed in February 1968 from the ashes of two unsuccessful blues/rock bands of the era. Ian Anderson brought his unique and innovative style of flute playing to a public raised on the guitar based British bands who courted acceptance at London’s famous Marquee Club.

After their first tentative blues oriented album, titled “This Was,” the group moved through successive records towards a more progressive sound, and with “Aqualung” in 1971 achieved their first real international level of success.

A few hit singles, notably “Living in the Past,” livened up their early career although it was as an album band, with songs of real substance, that the group really took off, both on record and as a major live concert act.

So-called concept albums followed in the early 70’s (“Thick as a Brick” and “A Passion Play”) with the attendant platinum No. 1 album chart sales.

Tull survived the critical backlash of the return-to-basics later 70’s to produce some of their finest creative efforts which, although not quite matching the commercial success of the previous works, established the band as one of the truly creative exponents of progressive music throughout the 70’s, 80’s and 90’s.

They have continued to constantly reinvent themselves, albeit with several personnel changes along the way.

Ian Anderson (flute and vocals) and Martin Barre (guitar) provide to this day the musical and historical backbone of the group, joined by Doane Perry on drums, Andrew Giddings on keyboards, and Jonathan Noyce on bass.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO