Too Old To Rock 'N' Roll: Too Young To Die! (Special Version - Remastered) Jethro Tull

Album info



Label: Warner Music Group

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Classic Rock

Artist: Jethro Tull

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Prelude (Steven Wilson Stereo Mix)00:53
  • 2Quiz Kid (Steven Wilson Stereo Mix)04:04
  • 3Crazed Institution (Steven Wilson Stereo Mix)04:36
  • 4Salamander (Steven Wilson Stereo Mix)02:53
  • 5Taxi Grab (Steven Wilson Stereo Mix)03:51
  • 6From A Dead Beat To An Old Greaser (Steven Wilson Stereo Mix)04:12
  • 7Bad-Eyed And Loveless (Steven Wilson Stereo Mix)02:11
  • 8Big Dipper (Steven Wilson Stereo Mix)03:33
  • 9Too Old To Rock 'N' Roll: Too Young To Die! (Steven Wilson Stereo Mix)05:34
  • 10Pied Piper (Steven Wilson Stereo Mix)04:37
  • 11The Chequered Flag (Dead Or Alive; Steven Wilson Stereo Mix)05:23
  • 12From A Dead Beat To An Old Greaser (Steven Wilson Stereo Remix, Monte Carlo January 1976)04:10
  • 13Bad-Eyed And Loveless (Steven Wilson Stereo Remix, Monte Carlo January 1976)02:12
  • 14Big Dipper (Steven Wilson Stereo Remix, Monte Carlo January 1976)03:36
  • 15Too Old To Rock 'N' Roll: Too Young To Die! (Steven Wilson Stereo Remix, Brussels November 1975)05:43
  • 16The Chequered Flag (Dead Or Alive; Steven Wilson Stereo Remix, Brussels November 1975)05:24
  • 17Quiz Kid (Version 1, Steven Wilson Stereo Mix)04:39
  • 18Salamander's Rag Time (Steven Wilson Mix)03:23
  • 19Commercial Traveller (Steven Wilson Mix)03:31
  • 20Salamander (Steven Wilson Mix, Instrumental)03:21
  • 21A Small Cigar (Steven Wilson Mix, Acoustic Version)03:39
  • 22Strip Cartoon (Steven Wilson Mix)03:18
  • 23One Brown Mouse (Early Version, Original Master Mix)03:32
  • 24A Small Cigar (Orchestrated Version, Original Rough Mix)04:32
  • 25Too Old To Rock 'N' Roll: Too Young To Die! (Demo, Steven Wilson Mix)06:05
  • 26Prelude00:55
  • 27Quiz Kid04:14
  • 28Crazed Institution04:49
  • 29Salamander02:52
  • 30Taxi Grab03:54
  • 31From A Dead Beat To An Old Greaser04:10
  • 32Bad-Eyed And Loveless02:12
  • 33Big Dipper03:36
  • 34Too Old To Rock 'N' Roll: Too Young To Die!05:45
  • 35Pied Piper04:33
  • 36The Chequered Flag (Dead Or Alive)05:27
  • Total Runtime02:21:19

Info for Too Old To Rock 'N' Roll: Too Young To Die! (Special Version - Remastered)

Jethro Tull were a unique phenomenon in popular music history. Their mix of hard rock; folk melodies; blues licks; surreal, impossibly dense lyrics; and overall profundity defied easy analysis, but that didn't dissuade fans from giving them 11 gold and five platinum albums.

„Jethro Tull's Too Old to Rock 'N' Roll: Too Young to Die! remains one of the minor efforts in its catalog. Though the group was never a critical favorite, this 1976 album was particularly dismissed, and it didn't find as much favor as usual from fans, either. At the time this reissue was released, 26 years after the original LP, it remained the group's only release of the 1970s not to have at least gone gold in the U.S. In his liner notes to the reissue, bandleader Ian Anderson claims that the collection was intended to support a stage musical 'based on a late-'50s motor cycle rocker and his living-in-the-past nostalgia for youthful years. Not me, guv, honest,' he added. 'Why do people always think it has to be autobiographical?' Perhaps because the main character, Ray Lomas, bears a striking resemblance to Anderson in the cartoon strip included with the album and because the sentiments expressed in the songs revealed a curmudgeonly attitude familiar from past Jethro Tull efforts penned by Anderson. The songs don't conform to the story line developed in the strip, nor do they tell a coherent story on their own, though they do have their own separate stories to tell. For example, 'Crazed Institution,' in the strip, has something to do with Lomas' revulsion at a department store called 'Horrids' (i.e., Harrod's), but the song sounds like a putdown of glam rockers who 'live and die upon [their] cross of platinum.' The title track, which went on to become a classic rock and concert favorite, remains the most striking tune. This reissue adds two previously released outtakes, 'Strip Cartoon,' which appeared as a non-LP B-side in 1977, and 'A Small Cigar,' making its U.S. debut after a 1994 appearance on the U.K. compilation Nightcap: The Unreleased Masters 1973-1991.“ (William Ruhlmann, AMG)

Ian Anderson, vocals, guitars, flute, harmonica, percussion
Martin Barre, electric guitar
John Evan, pianos, keyboards
Barriemore Barlow, drums, percussion
John Glascock, bass, vocals
Additional musicians:
David Palmer, saxophone (on track 5, piano on track 11)
Maddy Prior, backing vocals (on track 8)
Angela Allen, backing vocals (on tracks 2 & 7)

Recorded December 1975 at Radio Monte Carlo by the Maison Rouge Mobile Studio
Engineered by Robin Black
Produced by Ian Anderson

Digitally remastered

Jethro Tull
formed in February 1968 from the ashes of two unsuccessful blues/rock bands of the era. Ian Anderson brought his unique and innovative style of flute playing to a public raised on the guitar based British bands who courted acceptance at London’s famous Marquee Club.

After their first tentative blues oriented album, titled “This Was,” the group moved through successive records towards a more progressive sound, and with “Aqualung” in 1971 achieved their first real international level of success.

A few hit singles, notably “Living in the Past,” livened up their early career although it was as an album band, with songs of real substance, that the group really took off, both on record and as a major live concert act.

So-called concept albums followed in the early 70’s (“Thick as a Brick” and “A Passion Play”) with the attendant platinum No. 1 album chart sales.

Tull survived the critical backlash of the return-to-basics later 70’s to produce some of their finest creative efforts which, although not quite matching the commercial success of the previous works, established the band as one of the truly creative exponents of progressive music throughout the 70’s, 80’s and 90’s.

They have continued to constantly reinvent themselves, albeit with several personnel changes along the way.

Ian Anderson (flute and vocals) and Martin Barre (guitar) provide to this day the musical and historical backbone of the group, joined by Doane Perry on drums, Andrew Giddings on keyboards, and Jonathan Noyce on bass.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO