Falla: El sombrero de tres picos Pablo Heras-Casado & Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Cover Falla: El sombrero de tres picos

Album info



Label: Harmonia Mundi

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Pablo Heras-Casado & Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Composer: Manuel de Falla (1876-1946)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.70
  • Manuel de Falla (1876 - 1946): El Sombrero de tres picos:
  • 1El Sombrero de tres picos: Introducción01:23
  • 2El Sombrero de tres picos, Parte I: La tarde05:35
  • 3El Sombrero de tres picos, Parte I: Danza de la molinera. Fandango03:36
  • 4El Sombrero de tres picos, Parte I: Las uvas04:01
  • 5El Sombrero de tres picos, Parte II: Danza de los vecinos. Seguidillas03:27
  • 6El Sombrero de tres picos, Parte II: Danza del molinero. Farruca07:30
  • 7El Sombrero de tres picos, Parte II: Danza del corregidor06:07
  • 8El Sombrero de tres picos, Parte II: Danza final. Jota05:49
  • El Amor Brujo:
  • 9El Amor Brujo: Introducción y Escena - En la cueva. La noche (Ballet version)02:41
  • 10El amor brujo: Canción del amor dolido (Ballet version)01:30
  • 11El Amor Brujo: El aparecido - Danza del terror (Ballet version)02:10
  • 12El amor brujo: El círculo mágico. Romance del pescador - A media noche. Los sortilegios (Ballet version)03:00
  • 13El amor brujo: Danza ritual del fuego (Para ahuyentar los malos espíritus) - Escena (Ballet version)05:08
  • 14El Amor Brujo: Canción del fuego fatuo (Ballet version)01:47
  • 15El amor brujo: Pantomima (Ballet version)04:14
  • 16El Amor Brujo: Danza del juego de amor (Ballet version)02:54
  • 17El amor brujo: Final. Las campanas del amanecer (Ballet version)01:24
  • Total Runtime01:02:16

Info for Falla: El sombrero de tres picos

The two splendid works on this album resulted from Manuel de Falla's encounter with the husband-and-wife team of dramatists Martínez Sierra-Lejárraga: Love the Magician, whose eminently ‘gypsy’ inspiration takes us to the very heart of the flamenco repertory, here magnificently embodied under the direction of maestro Pablo Heras-Casado; and the brilliant pantomime The Three-cornered Hat, for which Picasso designed the sets and costumes – exactly 100 years ago!

Marina Heredia, mezzo-soprano
Carmen Romeau, mezzo-soprano
Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Pablo Heras-Casado, conductor

Pablo Heras-Casado
enjoys an unusually varied conducting career, encompassing the great symphonic and operatic repertoire, historically-informed performance and cutting-edge contemporary scores. In 2011 he was announced Principal Conductor of the Orchestra of St. Luke's in New York, beginning a four-year term including an annual concert season at Carnegie Hall.

In 2013/14 Heras-Casado debuts with the New York Philharmonic, Philadelphia Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra, Philharmonia Orchestra and Gewandhaus Orchester Leipzig – as well as at the Metropolitan Opera, where he conducts Verdi's Rigoletto. He returns to Carnegie Hall and the Caramoor Festival with the Orchestra of St. Luke's, and conducts Beethoven's Symphony No.9 at the New Year's concerts of Staatskapelle Berlin. Other highlights include return performances with the San Francisco Symphony, Münchner Philharmoniker, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra and Ensemble intercontemporain. He also tours with Freiburger Barockorchester and guest conducts a series of concert and opera performances at the Mariinsky Theatre.

Past seasons have seen the Spanish conductor make important appearances with orchestras such as the Berliner Philharmoniker, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Boston and Chicago symphony orchestras, and the Cleveland Orchestra. He was also re-invited by Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Orchestra dell'Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, Spanish National Orchestra and Teatro Real, Madrid. In 2012/13 he appeared for the first time at Deutsche Oper Berlin and Oper Frankfurt, while 2012 marked his debut at the Salzburger Festspiele.

In September 2013 Harmonia Mundi releases Heras-Casado's recording of Schubert's Symphonies Nos.3 & 4 with Freiburger Barockorchester. A second album, featuring Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks in Mendelssohn's Symphony No.2, 'Lobgesang', follows in March 2014. Meanwhile Deutsche Grammophon's Archiv Produktion – which recently welcomed Heras-Casado as an 'Archiv Ambassador' – has announced an album celebrating legendary castrato singer Farinelli. Autumn 2013 also sees the release of a disc on Sony featuring Placido Domingo in baritone arias by Giuseppe Verdi with the Orquestra de la Comunitat Valenciana conducted by Heras-Casado.

Recognized also for his work with contemporary music, Heras-Casado is a laureate of the 2007 Lucerne Festival conductors' forum. In Summer 2013, he returns for the third time to co-direct the festival's Academy at the personal invitation of Pierre Boulez.

Heras-Casado is the holder of the Medalla de Honor of the Rodriguez Acosta Foundation, and in February 2012 was awarded with the Golden Medal of Merit by the Council of Granada, his hometown, of which he is also an Honorary Ambassador. His 2011 DVD recording of Kurt Weill's 'Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny' from Teatro Real received the Diapason d'Or.

Booklet for Falla: El sombrero de tres picos

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO