Sampling Baroque Handel Musica Sequenza

Cover Sampling Baroque Handel

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Overture03:16
  • 2Se pieta05:31
  • 3Scherza infida04:55
  • 4Vieni vieni02:58
  • 5Midimelt (Interlude)03:52
  • 6Lascia04:44
  • 7What Passion Music Cannot Raise05:43
  • 8Cara sposa05:04
  • 9End Credits (Interlude)03:16
  • 10Nel passar04:51
  • 11From This Unhappy Day03:16
  • 12Ah! Mio cor04:02
  • 13Piangero04:45
  • 14Larghetto05:08
  • 15Hallelujah05:00
  • Total Runtime01:06:21

Info for Sampling Baroque Handel

„The deaf have found their ears, -their eyes the blind“. It was with these words that an unnamed English poet hymned George Frideric Handel in 1724, hailing his unparalleled impact on London’s musical scene. Handel had first come to the English capital in 1710, at a time when Italian opera was largely neglected in Britain. Not until 1719 did the city’s nobility establish the first operatic venture, the Royal Academy of Music. It lasted for only nine seasons. Within the space of three decades Handel wrote almost forty operas, founding his own opera companies and often suffering financial ruin in consequence. The market for opera in 18th-century London was volatile.

Today’s music market is very different, although it is by no means easier for artists. Just as Handel helped one particular type of music to achieve its breakthrough in London, so today’s musicians seek to find an audience for their endeavours. Musica Sequenza brings together Handel’s operatic arias with new forms of musical technology and with the sounds of an urban 21st century. Handel’s melodies are his strength. Instantly memorable, they express the emotions of his operatic characters. Handel reused a number of them: there was no copyright in his day, nor could music be reproduced by technological means. Sampling and the phenomenon of universally available music did not exist in the Age of Baroque.

Ever since he was a child, the composer Burak Özdemir has been exploring the world of sound. He collects sounds, combining them, rendering them unrecognizable and testing their mutability by taking them to their furthest extreme. He knows about performing techniques on period instruments just as he is aware of the almost literally limitless possibilities of electronic music. Human feelings – love, pain, joy – are the same as they were in Handel’s day. In Baroque opera seria they were described as “affects”, with carefully delineated dividing lines between them. This is Burak Özdemir’s starting point. He brings electronic music into the equation as a chamber recitalist. Every aria has its own world of sound. Bizarre electronic sounds are brought face to face with the love songs of Handel’s operatic heroes. In this way timeless feelings can be heard with fresh ears.

Musica Sequenza

Musica Sequenza
The groundbreaking baroque ensemble Musica Sequenza was founded in 2008 by its artistic director Burak Özdemir. The group received in the blink of an eye, international attention for their unique interpretations of baroque music. The Ensemble performs historical concerts on period instruments as well as innovative and passionate electro-baroque shows, where electronic and early music are brought in dialogue.

Booklet for Sampling Baroque Handel

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO