Arcangelo Corelli: Sonatas Ensemble Stravaganza

Album info



Label: Aparté

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.90
  • Giovanni Battista Reali (1631-1687): Capriccio Primo, Op. 1
  • 1I. Grave01:10
  • 2II. Allegro01:34
  • 3III. Grave00:43
  • 4IV. Allegro01:13
  • Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713): Sonata No. 8, Op. 3
  • 5I. Largo02:11
  • 6II. Allegro02:38
  • 7III. Largo02:01
  • 8IV. Allegro01:22
  • Sonata No. 3, Op. 4
  • 9I. Preludio03:44
  • 10II. Corrente01:27
  • 11III. Sarabanda01:48
  • 12IV. Tempo di Gavotta01:17
  • Sonata No. 4, Op. 2
  • 13I. Preludio03:43
  • 14II. Allemanda01:15
  • 15III. Grave00:16
  • 16IV. Adagio02:07
  • 17V. Giga01:43
  • Sonata No. 10, Op. 4
  • 18I. Preludio01:33
  • 19II. Grave01:18
  • 20III. Tempo di Gavotta01:29
  • Sonata No. 2, Op. 3
  • 21I. Grave02:03
  • 22II. Allegro01:01
  • 23III. Adagio02:17
  • 24IV. Allegro01:55
  • Sonata No. 2, Op. 4
  • 25I. Preludio02:13
  • 26II. Allemanda01:24
  • 27III. Grave00:29
  • 28IV. Corrente01:29
  • Sonata No. 5, Op. 3
  • 29I. Andante01:49
  • 30II. Adagio01:33
  • 31III. Largo02:03
  • 32IV. Allegro01:10
  • Giovanni Battista Reali (1631-1687): Folia, Op. 1
  • 33Folia, Op. 107:21
  • Total Runtime01:01:19

Info for Arcangelo Corelli: Sonatas

The epitome of Italian music for strings. The name of Corelli dominates a crucial period in the history of instrumental music. During the years 1681 to 1713 the Preclassical sonata and concerto reached a degree of maturity which became a designated model for all composers of his generation. At the same time, his work entirely devoted to bowing and performance became the violin teaching guide for nearly a century at various European schools, and whose first elements are still the basis of today's techniques.

This new recording of all Stravaganza, highlights, under the bow of Domitilla Gilon and Rie Kimura, subtleties in the art of the 'prince of violinists' without whom the composers of Baroque Europe could not have give us so many jewels.

Domitille Gilon, violin
Rie Kimura, violin
Robert Smith, cello
Damien Pouvreau, theorbo
Olivier Salandini, organ
Thomas Soltani, harpsichord

The Stravaganza Ensemble
is a baroque formation mainly dedicated to chamber music of the seventeenth and eighteenth century for one or two high-pitched instruments. Brought together by the violinist Domitille Gilon and the harpsichordist Thomas Soltani, musicians take part with enthusiasm and dedication to this musical and human adventure, which makes each concert a unique and rewarding experience for the audience.

The Stravaganza Ensemble includes various formations, with soloist musicians playing regularly in the main baroque orchestras: La Simphonie du Marais (Hugo Reyne), Ensemble Sagittarius (Michel Laplénie), Opéra Fuoco (Jay Bernfeld), Gli Incogniti (Amandine Beyer), Les Ambassadeurs (Alexis Kossenko), Pulcinella (Ophélie Gaillard)...

The Stravaganza Ensemble is regularly invited to numerous international festivals, in France (Festival baroque du Pays du Mont Blanc, Musicale Internationale de Guil Durance, Festival Jeunes-Talents-Paris...), in Scotland (Sypert concert series), in the Netherlands (Fabulous Fringe – Oude Muziek Utrecht), in the United Kingdom, Belgium (Ma Festival), Germany (Tage Alter Musik Regensburg)…

The ensemble has been awarded in 2011 bronze medal of the Academy of Literature and Arts. They also won the third prize and the special prize of critics and medias at the Premio Bonporti competition (Italy), the special prize ''De Graaf Unico van Wassenaer Masterclass Award'' at the van Wassenaer international early music competition in Amsterdam (Netherlands). Recently, Stravaganza has been also winner of the H.I.F Biber competition, in Austria (F.J. Aumann Prize).

The ensemble has been selected to reprensent the France during the showcase organized by the REMA (Réseau européen de musique ancienne in March 2013.

The CD „Concert at the Hapsburg Court“ is the first recording published by the Ensemble. Stravaganza is recording for the label Aparté/Harmonia mundi (CD will be released in September 2012).

The second recording will be release the 24th of September 2013, with works of Arcangelo Corelli - trio Sonatas (Label Aparté).

Stravaganza has the support of the Adami for different concerts tour.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO