Beethoven: Pathetique / Moonlight / Appassionata Valery Afanassiev

Album info



Label: Sony Music Labels Inc.

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Valery Afanassiev

Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827): Piano Sonata No. 8 in C Minor, Op. 13 "Pathetique":
  • 1I. Grave; Allegro di molto e con brio11:13
  • 2II. Adagio cantabile06:10
  • 3III. Rondo: Allegro05:33
  • Piano Sonata No. 14 in C-sharp Minor, Op. 27, No. 2 "Moonlight":
  • 4I. Adagio sostenuto (attacca:)09:58
  • 5II. Allegretto03:25
  • 6III. Presto agitato09:14
  • Piano Sonata No. 23 in F Minor, Op. 57 "Appassionata":
  • 7I. Allegro assai12:20
  • 8II. Andante con moto (attacca:)08:05
  • 9III. Allegro ma non troppo; Presto09:33
  • Total Runtime01:15:31

Info for Beethoven: Pathetique / Moonlight / Appassionata

Valery Afanassiev was born in Moscow in 1947 and studied at the Moscow Conservatory under Jacob Zak and, subsequently, Emil Gilels. He has won two major international competitions: the Bach Competition in Leipzig (1968) and Queen Elisabeth Competition in Brussels (1972). In 1974, he requested political asylum in Belgium; since his defection to the West, he has given concerts throughout Europe, Japan and the U.S.

An author as well as a musician, Afanassiev has recorded more than 30 CDs, the liner notes for which he writes himself, aiming to give the listener a total picture of his insight into the composer’s mind – a guided tour through an alchemical laboratory in which poetry, philosophy, painting, the Kabbalah and even wine, as much as musical notation, may be taken as points of reference. A musical partner of Gidon Kremer for many years, Afanassiev recorded Schubert and Brahms chamber pieces with the violinist. The pianist has also recorded major solo works by Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann, Brahms and Mussorgsky, among others.

Afanassiev has written 14 novels: nine in English, five in French. He has also written 14 books of poetry in English and three in Russian, a book of long stories, a book of short stories, a huge commentary on Dante’s Commedia, three books of essays and two theatrical pieces inspired by Pictures at an Exhibition and Kreisleriana, in both of which he performs as pianist and actor (in four languages). He has written a play based on Kafka’s In the Penal Colony during which he performs Morton Feldman’s Palais de Mari. He has also conducted various international orchestras.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO