Cover Last Tango Before Sunrise

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 12.50
  • José Serebrier (b. 1938): Symphony for Percussion:
  • 1Serebrier: Symphony for Percussion: I. Adagio - Conga05:15
  • 2Serebrier: Symphony for Percussion: II. Solo01:46
  • 3Serebrier: Symphony for Percussion: III. Moto perpetuo e cadenza03:12
  • Piano Sonata:
  • 4Serebrier: Piano Sonata: I. Allegro molto vivace04:43
  • 5Serebrier: Piano Sonata: II. Andante04:30
  • 6Serebrier: Piano Sonata: III. Moto perpetuo03:02
  • José Serebrier:
  • 7Serebrier: Flute Concerto with Tango: V. Danza. Allegro comodo05:04
  • 8Serebrier: Tango in Blue (Version for Orchestra)03:26
  • 9Serebrier: Candombe04:12
  • 10Serebrier: Almost a Tango (Version for Flute & Orchestra)05:23
  • 11Serebrier: Last Tango Before Sunrise03:39
  • 12Serebrier: Samson and Buddha05:30
  • 13Serebrier: Colores Mágicos13:03
  • Total Runtime01:02:45

Info for Last Tango Before Sunrise

Reference Recordings is proud to present new recordings of a compendium of nine works of José Serebrier, including four World Premières and the first digital recording of his dramatic Symphony for Percussion, performed by the Gnessin Percussion Ensemble of Moscow.

GRAMMY®-winning conductor and composer José Serebrier is one of the most-recorded classical artists in history. Born in 1938 in Uruguay of Russian and Polish parents, he has conducted most of the major orchestras around the world. He now has well over three hundred releases and multiple international awards. His projects have received thirty-seven GRAMMY® and LATIN GRAMMY® nominations in recent years. His published compositions, many of them written at an early age, number over one hundred. Reference Recordings has three previous albums with Maestro Serebrier. The works on this new album use a variety of musical ensembles ranging from solo piano and a percussion ensemble, to full orchestra playing tangos, flute concerti and a harp concerto written throughout the span of his long career. The earliest here is his 1957 Piano Sonata (World Première recording) performed by GRAMMY®-winning pianist Nadia Shpachenko, and the most recent is the title track Last Tango Before Sunrise, which he wrote in 2018 and recorded in Spain in 2019, conducting the Málaga Philharmonic Orchestra.

This album was produced by Julio Bagué and Mary Megan Peer for Peer-Southern Productions who are the main publishers of Josè Serebrier's music, including all the compositions on this album. Reference Recordings is grateful for their support in making this recording possible.

Nadia Shpachenko, piano
Nestor Torres, flute
Gabriel Goñí, flute
Sara Cutler, harp
Solène Le Van, soprano
Ilia Melikhov, percussion
Moscow Gnessin Percussion Ensemble
Orquesta Filarmónica de Málaga
José Serebrier, conductor

José Serebrier
GRAMMY-winner conductor and composer José Serebrier is one of most recorded classical artists in history. He has received forty-five GRAMMY nominations in recent years. All his recent recordings have received multiple GRAMMY nominations.

When José Serebrier was 21 years old, Leopold Stokowski hailed him as "the greatest master of orchestral balance". After five years as Stokowski's Associate Conductor at New York's Carnegie Hall, Serebrier accepted an invitation from George Szell to become the Composer in Residence of the Cleveland Orchestra for Szell’s last two seasons. Szell discovered Serebrier when he won the Ford Foundation American Conductors Competition (together with James Levine). Serebrier was music director of America's oldest music festival, in Worcester, Massachusetts, until he organized Festival Miami, and served as its artistic director for many years. In that capacity, Serebrier commissioned many composers, including Elliot Carter's String Quartet No. 4, and conducted many American and world premieres.

Serebrier has made international tours with the Russian National Orchestra, Juilliard Orchestra, Pittsburgh Symphony, Philharmonia Orchestra, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Toulouse Chamber Orchestra, National Youth Orchestra of Spain and many others.

Serebrier's first recording, the Ives' 4th Symphony with the London Philharmonic Orchestra, won a Grammy nomination. His recording of the Mendelssohn symphonies won the UK Music Retailers Association Award for Best Orchestral Recording, and his series of Shostakovich's Film Suites won the Deutsche Schallplatten Award for Best Orchestral Recording. Soundstage magazine selected Serebrier's recording of Scheherazade with the LPO as the Best Audiophile Recording. He has recorded with the London Symphony Orchestra, London Philharmonic, Royal Philharmonic, Philharmonia, Bournemouth Symphony, Oslo Philharmonic, Bamberg Symphony, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, Scottish Chamber Orchestra, English Chamber Orchestra, Barcelona Symphony, Czech State Philharmonic Brno, Weimar Staatskapelle, Sydney, Melbourne and Adelaide symphony orchestras and many others. "Serebrier Conducts Prokofiev, Beethoven and Tchaikowsky" filmed at the Sydney Opera, has been shown over 50 times on U.S. television. Serebrier conducted at the 2004 GRAMMY Awards ceremony in Los Angeles, telecast live to 175 countries. Serebrier presently records for Naxos, BIS, Warner Classics, RPO Records and Sony/BMG.

As composer, Serebrier has won most of the important awards in the United States, including two Guggenheims (as the youngest in that Foundation's history, at age 19), Rockefeller Foundation grants, commissions from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Harvard Musical Association, the B.M.I. Award, Koussevitzky Foundation Award, etc. Born in Uruguay of Russian and Polish parents, Serebrier has composed more than 100 works, published by Peer Music, Universal Edition Vienna, Kalmus, Warner Music, and Peters Corp. His First Symphony was premiered by Leopold Stokowski (who premiered several of his works) when Serebrier was 17, as a last-minute replacement for then then still unplayable Ives 4th Symphony.

His music has been recorded by conductors such as John Eliot Gardiner, among others. Serebrier made his US conducting debut at 19 with the National Symphony Orchestra in Washington, performing his Symphony No. 2, “Partita”. His new 3rd Symphony, "Symphonie Mystique" received a GRAMMY nomination for "Best New Composition of 2004". It was premiered at Carnegie Hall, NY in 2005. His "Carmen Symphony" CD, with the Barcelona Symphony Orchestra, won the Latin GRAMMY for "Best Classical Album of 2004". The French music critic Michel Faure has written a book about José Serebrier, published last year in France by L'Harmattan. Serebrier's first recording with the New York Philharmonic on Warner Classics was released recently, and his new recording with the London Symphony Orchestra, also for Sony Classical was also recently released.

Booklet for Last Tango Before Sunrise

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO