Wings Over America Paul McCartney & Wings

Cover Wings Over America

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Venus And Mars / Rock Show / Jet10:23
  • 2Let Me Roll It03:45
  • 3Spirits Of Ancient Egypt04:06
  • 4Medicine Jar04:07
  • 5Maybe I'm Amazed05:21
  • 6Call Me Back Again05:16
  • 7Lady Madonna02:38
  • 8The Long And Winding Road04:29
  • 9Live And Let Die03:21
  • 10Picasso's Last Words01:54
  • 11Richard Cory03:05
  • 12Bluebird03:44
  • 13I've Just Seen A Face02:10
  • 14Blackbird02:27
  • 15Yesterday01:56
  • 16You Gave Me The Answer02:06
  • 17Magneto And Titanium Man03:21
  • 18Go Now03:47
  • 19My Love04:15
  • 20Listen To What The Man Said03:33
  • 21Let 'Em In04:09
  • 22Time To Hide04:57
  • 23Silly Love Songs06:04
  • 24Beware My Love04:59
  • 25Letting Go04:34
  • 26Band On The Run05:30
  • 27Hi Hi Hi03:49
  • 28Soily05:47
  • Total Runtime01:55:33

Info for Wings Over America

Wings Over America is the monumental live album by Paul McCartney and Wings, originally released in December of 1976. Recorded throughout the band s Wings Over America U.S. tour dates earlier that Spring, the album reached #1 in the US in early 1977.

Containing almost two full hours of music, Wings Over America offers a stunning rendition of Maybe I‘m Amazed, plus Wings classics such as Live and Let Die, My Love, & Let Em In. McCartney also included some Beatles classics into the set list, including Yesterday, The Long and Winding Road and more for the first time since the Beatles had broken up six years earlier.

'...Documents the group at its commercial peak...' (Mojo Managzine)

Paul McCartney, Vocals, Bass Guitar, Piano, Acoustic Guitar
Linda McCartney, Vocals, Keyboard
Denny Laine, Vocals, Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Piano, Bass
Jimmy McCulloch, Vocals, Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Bass
Joe English, Drums, Vocals
Tony Dorsey, Trombone
Howie Casey, Saxophone
Steve Howard, Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Thaddeus Richard, Saxophone, Clarinet, Flute

Produced by Paul McCartney
Engineered by Phil McDonald, Jack Maxson, Mark Vigars and Tom Walsh
Audio remastered by Guy Massey, Steve Rooke and Simon Gibson at Abbey Road Studios, London

Paul McCartney
Following his second solo album, Ram, in 1971, ex-Beatle Paul McCartney and his wife, Linda, formed Wings, which was intended to be a full-fledged recording and touring band. Denny Laine, a former guitarist for the Moody Blues, and drummer Denny Seiwell filled out the lineup and Wings released their first album, Wild Life, in December 1971. Wild Life was greeted with poor reviews and was a relative flop. McCartney and Wings, which now featured former Grease Band guitarist Henry McCullough, spent 1972 as a working band, releasing three singles — the protest tune "Give Ireland Back to the Irish," the reggae-fied "Mary Had a Little Lamb," and the hard-rocking "Hi Hi Hi" — in England. Red Rose Speedway followed in the spring of 1973, and while it received weak reviews, it became his second American number one album. Later in 1973, Wings embarked on their first British tour, at the conclusion of which McCullough and Seiwell left the band. Prior to their departure, McCartney's theme to the James Bond movie Live and Let Die became a Top Ten hit in the U.S. and U.K. That summer, the remaining Wings proceeded to record a new album in Nigeria. Released late in 1973, Band on the Run was McCartney's best-reviewed album to date and his most successful, spending four weeks at the top of the U.S. charts and eventually going triple platinum.

Following the success of Band on the Run, McCartney formed a new version of Wings with guitarist Jimmy McCulloch and drummer Geoff Britton. The new lineup was showcased on the 1974 British single "Junior's Farm" and the 1975 hit album Venus and Mars. Wings at the Speed of Sound followed in 1976, and it was the first Wings record to feature songwriting contributions by the other bandmembers. The album became a monster success on the basis of two McCartney songs, "Silly Love Songs" and "Let 'Em In." Wings supported the album with their first international tour, which broke many attendance records and was captured on the live triple album Wings Over America (1976). After the tour was completed, Wings rested a bit during 1977, as McCartney released an instrumental version of Ram under the name Thrillington and produced Laine's solo album, Holly Days. Later that year, Wings released "Mull of Kintyre," which became the biggest-selling British single of all time (at the time of its release), selling over two million copies. In 1978 Wings followed "Mull of Kintyre" with London Town, which became another platinum record. After its release, McCulloch left the band to join the re-formed Small Faces, and Wings released Back to the Egg in 1979. Though the record went platinum, it failed to produce any big hits. Early in 1980, McCartney was arrested for marijuana possession at the beginning of a Japanese tour; he was imprisoned for ten days and then released, without any charges being pressed. Wings embarked on a British tour in the spring of 1980 before McCartney recorded McCartney II, which was a one-man-band effort like his solo debut. The following year, Laine left Wings because McCartney didn't want to tour in the wake of John Lennon's assassination; in doing so, he effectively broke up Wings, which quietly disbanded as McCartney entered the studio later that year with Beatles producer George Martin to make his 1982 album Tug of War.

Booklet for Wings Over America

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO