Crises (Super Deluxe Edition) Mike Oldfield

Album info



Label: Universal Music Group

Genre: Pop

Subgenre: Pop Rock

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 2013 Remaster Mixes
  • 1Crises20:57
  • 2Moonlight Shadow03:39
  • 3In High Places03:34
  • 4Foreign Affair03:54
  • 5Taurus 302:26
  • 6Shadow On The Wall03:14
  • 2013 Unplugged Mixes
  • 7Moonlight Shadow Unplugged Mix03:37
  • 8Shadow On The Wall03:24
  • 2013 Remaster Mixes
  • 9Mistake02:58
  • Extended Version 2013 Remaster
  • 10Crime Of Passion04:12
  • 2013 Remaster Mixes
  • 11Jungle Gardenia02:47
  • 12' Single 2013 Remaster Mixes
  • 12Moonlight Shadow05:16
  • 13Shadow On The Wall05:11
  • Live At Wembley Arena 1983
  • 14Woodhenge/ Incantations Part Three08:09
  • 15Sheba03:24
  • 16Ommadawn Part One08:53
  • 17Mount Teidi04:10
  • 18Five Miles Out05:03
  • 19Tubular Bells Part One18:45
  • 20Taurus I09:14
  • 21Taurus II23:08
  • 22Crises23:15
  • 23Moonlight Shadow05:30
  • 24Shadow On The Wall06:26
  • 25Family Man04:14
  • Total Runtime03:05:20

Info for Crises (Super Deluxe Edition)

In 1983, Mike Oldfield released one of his most commercially successful albums, Crises, which featured the huge hit single `Moonlight Shadow' and featured guest vocal appearances from Maggie Reilly, Jon Anderson and Roger Chapman. Of all the albums he has recorded, Crises underlined Mike Oldfield's skill as a writer of fine songs as well as a gifted creator of sublime instrumental music. Like the moon that shines out from the Terry Ilott painting gracing its cover, the music of Crises continues to shine magically thirty years on from its release.

'Following a long-established production pattern, Mike Oldfield assembled some relatively simple pop- and rock-flavored numbers following one long introductory piece on his 1983 Disky release, Crisis. The 20-minute opening title-track is a quintessential Oldfield texture study that consists of sparkling synth washes with edgier material weaving in and out. A fine setup, this track cleanses the aural pallet, preparing the listener nicely for the tunes that follow. Yes fans who can adjust to the sugary highlight 'In High Places' will enjoy Jon Anderson's springy vocal work on the track. The energetic guitar romp 'Taurus 3' will also appeal to most prog and art rock fans. Those in search of more ethereal Oldfield material should be aware of this record's pop leanings, but open-minded listeners will have a good time exploring Crisis, one of Oldfield's better releases of this type.' (Vincent Jeffries)

Mike Oldfield, vocals, guitars, piano, keyboards
Roger Chapman, vocals (on track 6)
Jon Anderson, vocals (on track 3)
Maggie Reilly, vocals (on tracks 2 and 4)
Ant, Rick Fenn, guitar
Pierre Moerlen, vibraphone
Phil Spalding, bass
Simon Phillips, drums

Produced by Mike Oldfield and Simon Phillips

Digitally remastered

Mike Oldfield
is an artist like no other. Over the last 37 years he has produced timeless, unique and inspirational music that has enthralled listeners the world over.

In terms of overnight success stories, Mike Oldfield's is astounding. After a short stint playing bass in Kevin Ayers' backing band, he was taken under the guiding wing of a 22-year-old Richard Branson and Tubular Bells was born. Thrillingly enigmatic music that sounds like nothing before or since, a critical and commercial success, and, to cap it all, the coveted Grammy Award for Best Instrumental Composition after an excerpt was used in the film The Exorcist.

A blessing and a curse, the magnitude of Mike's sudden success could easily have stalled him and yet he returned almost immediately with another two-movement pastoral masterwork Hergest Ridge and a year later issued the groundbreaking world music suite Ommadawn. Mike Oldfield is that rare beast, the intuitive artist, a confident and creative multi-instrumentalist, not bound by rule or convention and content to follow his own path: "All I want to express with my music is my feelings. I think it's the purpose. To show images, landscapes, love, hate, fury."

Mike Oldfield -"Everything on Tubular Bells was done on the first take - it was lovely, so spontaneous. I had such a long time to prepare it, and I had just one little chance to do it, and now I listen to it and it has a lovely spontaneous energy. It's got mistakes, and I could easily have cut them out, but I left them on."

Mike Oldfield - "I'd like to see somebody come and play differently from everybody else, not using the Blues scale, not turning into jazz, but making something new out of nothing."

Mike Oldfield -"I don't listen to my old albums. I'm too afraid. I'm always thinking about the next album. There comes a point when I finish an album, and I say: 'That's that.'"

John Peel - "Without borrowing anything from established classics or descending into the discords, squeals and burps of the determinedly avant-garde, Mike Oldfield has produced music which combines logic with surprise, sunshine with rain."

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO