Rimembranza Sophie Pacini

Cover Rimembranza

Album info



Label: Avenir

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Sophie Pacini

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791), Franz Schubert (1797-1828), Franz Liszt (1811-1886), Ennio Morricone (1928)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.70
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791): 12 Variations on "Ah, vous dirai-je Maman", K. 265 (300e):
  • 112 Variations on "Ah, vous dirai-je Maman", K. 265 (300e)11:47
  • Piano Sonata No. 8 in A Minor, K. 310 (300d):
  • 2Piano Sonata No. 8 in A Minor, K. 310 (300d): I. Allegro maestoso08:15
  • 3Piano Sonata No. 8 in A Minor, K. 310 (300d): II. Andante cantabile con espressione09:52
  • 4Piano Sonata No. 8 in A Minor, K. 310 (300d): III. Presto02:58
  • Franz Schubert (1797 - 1828): Piano Sonata in A Minor, Op. 143 (D. 784):
  • 5Piano Sonata in A Minor, Op. 143 (D. 784): I. Allegro giusto14:59
  • 6Piano Sonata in A Minor, Op. 143 (D. 784): II. Andante04:35
  • 7Piano Sonata in A Minor, Op. 143 (D. 784): III. Allegro vivace05:08
  • Impromptu No. 2 in E-Flat Major, Op. 90/2 (D. 899/2):
  • 8Impromptu No. 2 in E-Flat Major, Op. 90/2 (D. 899/2)04:05
  • Impromptu No. 3 in G-flat major, Op. 90/3 (D. 899/3):
  • 9Impromptu No. 3 in G-flat major, Op. 90/3 (D. 899/3)06:10
  • Franz Liszt (1811 - 1886): Ständchen, S. 560 (Transcription from Schubert's Schwanengesang No. 4, D. 957):
  • 10Ständchen, S. 560 (Transcription from Schubert's Schwanengesang No. 4, D. 957)05:45
  • Andrea (b. 1964) & Ennio Morricone (1928 - 2020): Love Theme from "Nuovo Cinema Paradiso":
  • 11Love Theme from "Nuovo Cinema Paradiso"03:13
  • Total Runtime01:16:47

Info for Rimembranza

“Music without remembrance is not possible”, affirms pianist Sophie Pacini, and “Rimembranza” is the title she has chosen for her 6th solo album. Here, the music deals with hope and doubt, pain and deliverance, bitter loss and – most of all – memory.

At the album’s core she has placed two works she finds strongly connected with pain, transience, and death: Mozart’s Sonata in A minor K.310 and Schubert’s Sonata in A minor D 784. Mozart’s mother died in Paris shortly before he wrote his sonata. His twelve variations on the French folk song “Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman!” thus already bear the seed of the Sonata in A minor in themselves. “They are Mozart’s rimembranza addressed to himself”, she suggests. With their plaintive title harking back to the past, these variations open the curtain on Sophie Pacini’s album. Before it falls again, we hear Schubert’s two Impromptus Op. 90: sounding like excerpts from his sonatas, they “brush against our memory like two bittersweet rimembranzas from the past”, she muses. The last act is introduced by Schubert’s “Ständchen” on a love poem by Ludwig Rellstab. The subject of love likewise closes the album; from the film “Cinema Paradiso”, we hear the love theme composed by the recently departed Ennio Morricone and his son Andrea – a tribute track to Sophie Pacini’s second homeland, Italy.

Her previous album “In Between” stayed for months in the top tiers of the German classical charts; now, in times as special as these, Sophie Pacini releases what could be her most personal album. This co-production with Deutschlandfunk also inaugurates her collaboration with the new Cologne label “Avenir”.

"Her expressivity never becomes an end in itself: at any one moment her playing is artistic, contemplative, surprising and illuminating" (Neue Zürcher Zeitung)

Sophie Pacini, piano

Sophie Pacini
Born in Munich in 1991, Pacini began her studies at the age of ten as a pupil of Karl-Heinz Kämmerling at the Salzburg Mozarteum, where she was accepted two years later by the newly founded Institute for Highly Gifted Students. From 2007 she continued her studies in master classes given by Pavel Gililov, completing her diploma in 2011 with honours. In 2010 she became acquainted with Martha Argerich, who invited her the following year to give a recital as part of the Martha Argerich Project in Lugano, and who has since become an important figure in the young pianist’s career.

As a soloist she has performed with orchestras including Camerata Salzburg, Lucerne Symphony Orchestra, Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra, Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, Dresden Philharmonic, Orchestra of the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland Pfalz, Tokyo Philharmonic, Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg and Vienna Chamber Orchestra. Since 2013 Sophie Pacini has been supported by a scholarship from the Dortmund Mozart Society. In 2015 she received the ECHO Klassik Young Artist of the Year Award in the Piano category.

Booklet for Rimembranza

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO