Cover Brahms: Complete Clarinet Sonatas & Trio

Album info



Label: IBS Classical

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 16.70
  • Johannes Brahms (1833 - 1897): Clarinet Sonata in F Minor, Op. 120 No. 1:
  • 1Clarinet Sonata in F Minor, Op. 120 No. 1: I. Allegro appassionato07:50
  • 2Clarinet Sonata in F Minor, Op. 120 No. 1: II. Andante un poco adagio05:11
  • 3Clarinet Sonata in F Minor, Op. 120 No. 1: III. Allegretto grazioso03:50
  • 4Clarinet Sonata in F Minor, Op. 120 No. 1: IV. Vivace05:04
  • Clarinet Sonata in E-Flat Major, Op. 120 No. 2:
  • 5Clarinet Sonata in E-Flat Major, Op. 120 No. 2: I. Allegro amabile07:58
  • 6Clarinet Sonata in E-Flat Major, Op. 120 No. 2: II. Allegro appassionato05:05
  • 7Clarinet Sonata in E-Flat Major, Op. 120 No. 2: III. Andante con moto06:33
  • Clarinet Trio in A Minor, Op. 114:
  • 8Clarinet Trio in A Minor, Op. 114: I. Allegro07:50
  • 9Clarinet Trio in A Minor, Op. 114: II. Adagio07:13
  • 10Clarinet Trio in A Minor, Op. 114: III. Andantino grazioso04:13
  • 11Clarinet Trio in A Minor, Op. 114: IV. Allegro04:31
  • Total Runtime01:05:18

Info for Brahms: Complete Clarinet Sonatas & Trio

It is clear and undisputed that the Sonatas belong to the outstanding clarinet music-literature. Brahms succeeds in his two Sister Sonatas to show the full sonority of the woodwind instrument while treating the piano as an accompaniment, but equal chamber music partner. Clarinet and piano always stay together in support and in dialogue. The composition in all of these works can be experienced as a contribution to any understanding of expression and inter-musical relationships: this becomes clear on an inter-musical level of the composition and on an inter-humane level of the interpreters. It is especially this aspect which makes Brahms still experienceable in performance and interpretable today. In this performativity , the works experience their raison d être; and in their performance, the intimate dialogue of friendship becomes reality. It is hard to find such a well-balanced and creative union between three artists, whose solo careers speak for themselves, but whose collaboration evoke the true essence of music-making. The most notable element perhaps, which brings Pablo Barragan, Juan P. Floristan, and Andrei Ionita together is their common vision of the communicational power of chamber music, its capacity to inspire and transform and its importance for their professional and personal development.

Pablo Barragán, clarinet
Juan Pérez Floristán, piano
Andrei Ioniţă, cello

Pablo Barragán
With music one can say what cannot be expressed otherwise. Music makes intangible things tangible and touches in a special way. Pablo Barragán is fascinated by this kind of communication and from the first note masterfully creates a connection to his audience. His performance is differentiated, elegant and perfectly nuanced. He wants to tell stories, convey emotions and create his own color palette for every work.

For him, art is a constant source of inspiration. He loves to visit galleries and museums, to have the experience of a good coffee or conversation with friends. In his childhood, drawing and painting was a great passion for him. He grew up with the feeling of creativity and freedom, which he also found in music. Although classical music played a minor role in his family life in southern Spain, his mother always encouraged him to try new things, so he began playing the piano at the age of four. Later, through the

soprano saxophone he found his “instrument”: the clarinet. He remembers vividly hearing for the first time a tone and a world of infinite possibilities, melodies and rhythms open up. In addition to playing his own music, he loves to listen to the old cassette recorder for hours on end.

His musical path led Barragán to study the clarinet through youth orchestras and chamber music ensembles. The joint creative process and the feeling of being a part of something bigger strengthened his desire to make music. He studied at the Conservatorio in Seville with Antonio Salguero and then moved to the Barenboim-Said Foundation in Berlin with Matthias Glander. He was also a member of the West-Eastern Divan Orchestras, conducted by Maestro Daniel Barenboim. In 2009, he went to the Basel Academy of Music as a scholarship student to the Fundación Caja, where he studied in the master class of François Benda. Martin Fröst, Charles Niedich and Dimitri Ashkenazy also gave him new impulses in master classes.

The development of Barragán from a young talent to an acknowledged musician is reflected among other things in his being awarded the Prix Credit Suisse Jeunes Solistes 2013 and the invitation of the Lucerne Festival in the same year. His solo debut at the festival was broadcast live by the RTS and then produced by the Credit Suisse Foundation as a CD. This development has been accompanied by various prizes at international competitions, such as the ARD Music Competition 2012, the Juventudes Musicales de España 2011 and the European Music Competition for Youth 2011 (EMCY).

As a soloist, Pablo Barragán enjoys the exchange with colleagues and audiences. His curiosity has made him discover new perspectives in music, appearing with orchestras such as the Sinfonieorchester Basel, the Orquesta de Radiotelevision Española, the Slovak Chamber Orchestra, the Malaga Philharmonic Orchestra and with conductors such as Clemens Schuldt, Adrian Pravaba and Gabriel Feltz.

The intimacy of chamber music in turn opens up entirely new views, emotions and colors that characterize the young musician. Making music together with the Goldmund Quartet, Maki Wiederkehr, Juan Pérez Floristán, Andrei Ioniţă and Viviane Hagner at festivals such as Lucerne Festival, Menuhin Festival Gstaad, Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, Young Euroclassics Berlin and the Mecklenburg- Vorpommern Festival are thus as important as his solo concerts.

Pablo Barragán’s diversity is evident in the CD releases planned for spring and autumn 2018. Together with Juan Pérez Floristán (piano) and Andrei Ioniţă (violoncello) he’ll present clarinet trios and sonatas by Brahms on the Spanish label IBS. Pablo Barragán fulfilled a dream with the recording of Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto, and performed compositions by Marco Perez Ramirez and Dominique Gessenay-Rapp, a program selection that reveals Barragán’s openness and curiosity for new experiences.

Booklet for Brahms: Complete Clarinet Sonatas & Trio

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO