Album info



Label: Sony Classical

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Olga Scheps

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Modest Mussorgsky (1839 - 1881):
  • 1Memories of a Promenade II03:33
  • Sven Helbig (b. 1951):
  • 2Am Abend (Version for Piano Solo)03:53
  • Chilly Gonzales (b. 1972):
  • 3Olga Gigue03:01
  • Frédéric Chopin (1810 - 1849):
  • 4Nocturnes, Op. 9, No. 2 in E-Flat Major04:21
  • Aphex Twin (b. 1971):
  • 5Avril 14th01:42
  • Edvard Grieg (1843 - 1907):
  • 6Lyric Pieces, Op. 38, No. 3: Melody04:26
  • Johannes Brahms (1833 - 1897):
  • 7Intermezzo in A Major, Op. 118, No. 205:46
  • Ludovico Einaudi (b. 1955):
  • 8Una mattina03:30
  • Chilly Gonzales:
  • 9Armellodie04:40
  • Christoph Willibald Gluck (1714 - 1787):
  • 10Orfeo ed Euridice, Wq. 30: Melody (Arr. for Piano)04:05
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750):
  • 11Concerto Italiano in F Major, BWV 971: II. Andante (Transcribed for Piano)05:40
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827):
  • 12Für Elise, WoO 5903:23
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 13Concerto in D Minor, BWV 974: II. Adagio (after Oboe Concerto in D Minor, S.Z799)04:04
  • Frédéric Chopin:
  • 14Nocturnes, Op. 27, No. 2 in D-Flat Major07:10
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791):
  • 15Turkish March, Concert Paraphrase based on Rondo alla Turca from Piano Sonata in A Major, K. 33103:04
  • Total Runtime01:02:18

Info for Melody

Chilly Gonzales wrote the "Olga - Gigue" for her, Sven Helbig did a piano - arrangement of his "Pocket Symphony - Am Abend" for her. Vivan and Ketan Bhatti wrote "Memories of Mussorsky" also for piano solo for Olga. This work, performed by Olga will also be a part of the new programm of the break dance group "Flying Steps". More works by Frederic Chopin, Aphex Twin, Ludwig van Beethoven, or Mozart / Volodos are on this album, which reflects the musical world as it is, without genre - borders.

Olga Scheps, piano

Olga Scheps
was born in Moscow in 1986, the daughter of two pianists, and discovered the instrument for herself at the age of four. She began studying the piano more intensively after her family moved to Germany in 1992. At an early age she had already developed her own unique style of keyboard playing, which combines intense emotiveness and powerful expressivity with extraordinary pianistic technique. Among those who discovered these talents was Alfred Brendel, who has encouraged Olga Scheps since she was fifteen. A holder of scholarships from the Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben and Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes, she completed her studies with Professor Pavel Gililov in her adopted home of Cologne in 2013, paasing her Concert Examination with Distinction. She rounded out her training with Professor Arie Vardi and Professor Dmitri Bashkirov.

Olga Scheps's principal repertory consists of Classical and Romantic composers; she is a highly individual interpreter of works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Frédéric Chopin, Felix Mendelssohn, Franz Schubert, Franz Liszt, Sergei Rachmaninoff, Nikolai Medtner, and Edvard Grieg. At the same time she has a particular interest in compositions that are seldom heard in the concert hall, including the posthumous Études of Chopin, Liszt’s rarely performed Malédiction, Olivier Messiaen's Les Oiseaux exotiques, Antonin Dvorak's Piano Concerto, and pieces by Anatoly Lyadov.

Her solo recitals are as popular with audiences all over the world as her acclaimed appearances as soloist with orchestra and her chamber projects.

Such noted conductors as Yakov Kreutzberg, Thomas Dausgaard, Lorin Maazel, José Serebrier, Marcus Bosch, Ralf Weikert, Michel Tabachnik, Antoni Wit, Ivor Bolton, and Christoph Altstedt have invited Olga Scheps to collaborate with them.

Among the leading orchestras with which she has appeared in concert are the Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte-Carlo, the Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra, the Mozarteum Orchester Salzburg, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, the State Symphony Cappella of Russia (Moscow), the Staatskapelle Weimar, the Zurich Chamber Orchestra, and the NDR Radiophilharmonie.

Olga Scheps now performs with great success in world-famous concert halls such as the Berlin Philharmonie, the Vienna Konzerthaus, and the Zurich Tonhalle. She is a sought-after guest at festivals like the Rheingau Musik Festival, the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, the Kissinger Sommer, the Heidelberger Frühling, the Klavierfestival Ruhr, the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, the Sommerliche Musiktagen Hitzacker, the Mersin Festival in Turkey, and the Menuhin Festival Gstaad.

A passionate chamber musician, she plays regularly with such artists as Alban Gerhardt, Daniel Hope, Adrian Brendel, Jan Vogler, and Nils Mönkemeyer.

Highlights of the 2014/15 season include tours with solo recitals to Korea, Japan, and Israel as well as a tour with the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse under the baton of Tugan Sukhiev in Germany. In addition, Olga Scheps will make her debuts with the Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestra of Welsh National Opera, the Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz, and in Cadogan Hall, London, with the Stuttgarter Kammerorchester. She has also received return invitations from the Rheingau Musik Festival, the Berliner Philharmonie and the Kölner Philharmonie.

Since 2010 Olga Scheps has been an exclusive Sony Classical artist. Her debut album 'Chopin' immediately won an ECHO Klassik award. The two recordings that followed, 'Russian Album' (2010) and 'Schubert' (2012) were also highly praised by the press. Her fourth Sony Classical CD was released early in 2014 and features Chopin's Piano Concertos nos. 1 and 2 with the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra.

Booklet for Melody

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO