Franz Liszt: Symphonic Poems, Vol. 4 BBC Philharmonic - Gianandrea Noseda

Cover Franz Liszt: Symphonic Poems, Vol. 4

Album info



Label: Chandos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Largo con duolo - Quasi andante marziale08:19
  • 2Agitato un poco piu mosso - Allegro eroico piu tosto moderato03:41
  • 3Agitato molto - Piu mosso ma poco - Stringendo02:50
  • 4Largo con duolo - Andante: Tempo di marcia funebre -03:25
  • 5Allegro marziale - Von hier an bis zum Allegro trionfante das Tempo allmahlich beschleunigen01:45
  • 6Allegro trionfante - Stretto - Presto giocoso assai01:59
  • 7Sehr langsam und duster - Etwas bewegter, aber immer langsam - Fast dasselbe Tempo03:32
  • 8Allegro appassionato ed agitato assai - Dasselbe Tempo02:26
  • 9Allegro wie fruher - Allegro molto agitato03:28
  • 10Sehr langsam und duster wie Anfangs - Moderato, funebre04:21
  • 11Tempestoso: Allegro non troppo - Piu mosso02:21
  • 12Das Tempo bleibt immer dasselbe bei dem verschiedenen Taktwechsel - Alla breve - Immer sturmischer -04:07
  • 13Maestoso assai Andante - Lento - Nicht schleppend, aber sehr ruhig05:20
  • 14Allegro alla breve - Stretto03:19
  • 15So willst du treulos von mir scheiden: Andante -01:38
  • 16Aufschwung, 'Es dehnte mit allmacht'gem Streben' - Allegro spiritoso alla breve -05:47
  • 17Da lebte mir der Baum, die Rose: Quieto e sostenuto assai02:55
  • 18Wie einst mit flehendem Verlangen: Quieto e sostenuto assai02:28
  • 19Wie tanzte vor des Lebens Wagen: Allegro molto mosso03:12
  • 20Enttauschung, 'Doch, ach! schon auf des Weges Mitte'02:48
  • 21Von all dem rauschenden Geleite: Das Tempo allmahlich etwas bewegter -00:50
  • 22Du, die du alle Wunden heilest: Das Tempo allmahliche etwas bewegter02:35
  • 23Beschaftigung, 'Und du, die gern sich mir ihr gattet'02:16
  • 24Apotheose: Piu moderato, maestoso, con somma passione - Allegro vivace04:15
  • Total Runtime01:19:37

Info for Franz Liszt: Symphonic Poems, Vol. 4

Hungaria, symphonic poem No. 9, S103
Hamlet, symphonic poem No. 10, S104
Hunnenschlacht, symphonic poem No. 11, S105
Die Ideale, symphonic poem No. 12, S106

BBC Philharmonic, Gianandrea Noseda

This is the fourth volume of the BBC Phiharmonic’s five-disc cycle of Liszt’s Symphonic Poems, conducted by Gianandrea Noseda. This monumental survey continues to go from strength to strength through Noseda’s passionate conducting and innate Italian romanticism and has made possible a reappraisal of these unjustly neglected works. The Telegraph wrote, “…it is hard to imagine them ever sounding better than here. This is music-making full of rich colouring, refined shaping of melodic line and emotional power.”

Between 1848 and 1858 Liszt wrote twelve Symphonic Poems. He coined the term Symphonische Dichtung around 1853 to describe these musical works whose ideas were inspired by other art forms such as poetry or painting, or by characters and scenes. The works were particularly revolutionary for they are one-movement compositions, rather than the traditional four-movement form and pushed the boundaries of orchestration, form, harmony and structure. In this fourth instalment, the BBC Philharmonic presents four key works in Liszt’s symphonic catalogue. Widely acknowledged as one of Liszt’s greatest works, Hamlet is rarely performed, yet widely acknowledged as one of Liszt’s greatest works, and chronologically the last of the symphonic poems to be composed. It was intended as an overture to Shakespeare’s play. Hungaria was composed following Liszt’s first return visit to Hungary in 1839 having moved from his homeland aged 11. He was welcomed with open arms as a great celebrity and artist by his compatriots Undoubtedly inspired by this visit, the post Vörösmarty wrote his patriotic ode ‘To Ferenc Liszt’ to which Liszt eventually responded with his episodic work, Hungaria. Die Ideale is a highly episodic work based on quotes from a poem by Friedrich Schiller and was first played in 1857 in Weimar, conducted by the composer. The final work, Battle of the Huns takes its inspiration from Kaulbach’s painting of Attila the Hun. The final volume of this epic series is released in 2009 and will include the Dante Symphony.

…when performed with such superfine brilliance as here, everything is made irresistibly vital and graphic.” (GRAMOPHONE)

No albums found.

No biography found.

Booklet for Franz Liszt: Symphonic Poems, Vol. 4

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO