Made In Japan Live (Original 1972 Mix) Deep Purple

Album info



Label: Universal / EMI

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Classic Rock

Artist: Deep Purple

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Live In Osaka, Japan - 16th August 1972 (Original 1972 Mix)
  • 1Highway Star06:42
  • Live In Osaka, Japan - 16th August 1972 (Original 1972 Mix)
  • 2Child In Time12:17
  • Live In Osaka, Japan - 15th August 1972 (Original 1972 Mix)
  • 3Smoke On The Water07:36
  • Live In Tokyo, Japan - 17th August 1972 (Original 1972 Mix)
  • 4The Mule09:27
  • Live In Osaka, Japan - 16th August 1972 (Original 1972 Mix)
  • 5Strange Kind Of Woman09:52
  • Live In Tokyo, Japan - 17th August 1972 (Original 1972 Mix)
  • 6Lazy10:26
  • Live In Osaka, Japan - 16th August 1972 (Original 1972 Mix)
  • 7Space Truckin'19:55
  • Total Runtime01:16:15

Info for Made In Japan Live (Original 1972 Mix)

'Made In Japan' was recorded live over three nights during August 15–17, 1972 at Festival Hall, Osaka and Budokan, Tokyo. Four of the tracks come from the band's 1972 'Machine Head' album. It featured what many consider the classic Deep Purple lineup — Ian Gillan (vocals), Ritchie Blackmore (guitar), Roger Glover (bass), Jon Lord (organ) and Ian Paice (drums). Originally recorded only for the Japanese market, the album has since become seen as one of Deep Purple's seminal albums, and one of the greatest live albums of all time (A Rolling Stone magazine readers poll in 2012 voted 'Made In Japan' as the sixth greatest live album of all time).

'One of the world's premier rock groups offers up a double set consisting of live recordings done during their tour of Japan last summer. The set consists primarily of elongated versions of familiar tunes, which serves to give the listener an idea of how the band members handle themselves in concert. Highlights include Jon Lord's keyboard work, vocals of Ian Gillan, and Ritchie Blackmore's biting guitar. Many bands lack something in concert, but this set only accentuates the group's already strong reputation. Best cuts: 'Highway Star,' 'Smoke On The Water,' 'Space Truckin'.' (Billboard, 1973)

Ian Gillan, vocals
Ritchie Blackmore, guitar
Roger Glover, bass
Jon Lord, organ
Ian Paice, drums

Digitally remastered

Deep Purple
are an English rock band formed in Hertford in 1968. They are considered to be among the pioneers of heavy metal and modern hard rock, although their musical approach changed over the years. Originally formed as a progressive rock band, the band's sound shifted to hard rock in 1970. Deep Purple, together with Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath, have been referred to as the "unholy trinity of British hard rock and heavy metal in the early to mid-Seventies". They were listed in the 1975 Guinness Book of World Records as "the globe's loudest band" for a 1972 concert at London's Rainbow Theatre, and have sold over 100 million albums worldwide, including 8,5 million certified units in the US.

The band has gone through many line-up changes and an eight-year hiatus (1976–1984). The 1968–1976 line-ups are commonly labelled Mark I, II, III and IV. Their second and most commercially successful line-up featured Ian Gillan (vocals), Jon Lord (organ), Roger Glover (bass), Ian Paice (drums), and Ritchie Blackmore (guitar). This line-up was active from 1969 to 1973, and was revived from 1984 to 1989, and again from 1992 to 1993. The band achieved more modest success in the intervening periods between 1968 and 1969 with the line-up including Rod Evans (vocals) and Nick Simper (bass, backing vocals), between 1974 and 1976 (Tommy Bolin replacing Blackmore in 1975) with the line-up including David Coverdale (vocals) and Glenn Hughes (bass, vocals), and between 1989 and 1992 with the line-up including Joe Lynn Turner (vocals). The band's line-up (currently featuring Ian Gillan, and guitarist Steve Morse from 1994) has been much more stable in recent years, although organist Jon Lord's retirement from the band in 2002 (being succeeded by Don Airey) left Ian Paice as the only original Deep Purple member still in the band.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO