The Hours Begin to Sing Lisa Delan

Cover The Hours Begin to Sing

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: PentaTone

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 13,50
  • Book of nightmares (für Sopran, Violoncello und Klavier) (Auszug) Jake Heggie (1961)
  • 1I. The Nightmare03:57
  • 2II. In a Restaurant02:33
  • 3III. My Father's Eyes03:33
  • 4IV. Back You Go04:22
  • Vilna poems (für Sopran, Klarinette, Violoncello und Klavier) David Garner (1954)
  • 5No. 1. Unter dayne vayse shtern03:24
  • 6No. 2. Shpiltsayg02:19
  • 7No. 3. In kartser02:36
  • 8No. 4. Ekzekutzie04:13
  • 9No. 5. Vi azoy?03:04
  • 10No. 6. In torbe funem vint05:43
  • Irish Folksong Settings Nr. 1-3 (für Sopran und Flöte) John Corigliano (1938)
  • 11No. 1. Salley Gardens02:37
  • 12No. 2. The Foggy Dew02:59
  • 13No. 3. She Moved Through the Fair03:54
  • Four Emily Dickinson SongsFor Soprano and Piano Gordon Getty (1933)
  • 14No. 1. Safe in Their Alabaster Chambers01:25
  • 15No. 2. There's a Certain Slant of Light02:31
  • 16No. 3. A Bird Came Down the Walk01:41
  • 17No. 4. Because I Could Not Stop for Death02:33
  • Quatrains of Love (für Sopran, Violoncello und Klavier) Luna Pearl Woolf (1973)
  • 18I. No. 1359. Do you think I know what I'm doing?00:52
  • 19II. No. 25. Friend, our closeness is this01:17
  • 20III. No. 1242. During the day I was singing with you01:26
  • 21IV. No. 388. I would love to kiss you00:55
  • 22V. No. 1797. We are walking through a garden01:32
  • 23VI. No. 1246. The minute I heard my first love story00:52
  • 24VII. No. 36. When I am with yo01:15
  • 25VIII. No. 64. When I die, lay out the corpse01:53
  • 26IX. No. 91. The breeze at dawn01:23
  • 27X. No. 1359. Do you think I know what I'm doing?00:25
  • Five Cabaret Songs For Soprano and Piano William Bolcom (1938)
  • 28No. 5. Song of Black Max03:11
  • 29No. 21. Can't Sleep01:33
  • 30No. 22. At the Last Lousy Moments of Love02:35
  • 31No. 19. Angels Are the Highest Form of Virtue01:28
  • 32No. 12. George04:00
  • Total Runtime01:18:01

Info zu The Hours Begin to Sing

Mit diesem Album setzt die Sopranistin Lisa Delan die Reihe mit Liedern von zeitgenössischen amerikanischen Komponisten und Lyrikern fort. Viele der Lieder wurden eigens für Lisa Delan geschrieben und sind auf „The Hours Begin to Sing“ erstmals eingespielt. „Es ist für mich sehr aufregend, mit „The Hours Begin to Sing“ wieder vier Aufnahmepremieren zu präsentieren, von denen drei speziell für dieses Album komponiert wurden. Ich bin zwar nicht die Mutter dieser Kreation, doch fühle ich mich geehrt, als Geburtshelferin fungiert zu haben.“ (Lisa Delan)

Lisa Delan, Soprano
Kristin Pankonin, Klavier
Matt Haimovitz, Violoncello
David Krakauer, Klarinete
Maxim Rubtsov, Flöte

Lisa Delan
American soprano Lisa Delan has won acclaim as an outstanding interpreter of a vast repertoire and is recognized for her versatility and breadth of accomplishment in opera, song, and recording.

She has performed on some of the world’s leading concert stages including Lincoln Center, the Auditiorio Nacional in Madrid, the Moscow Conservatory, and in a special appearance at Windsor Castle. Her festival appearances include the Bad Kissingen Festival in Germany, the Colmar Festival in France, the Rachmaninoff Festival in Novgorod, Russia, the Festival del Sole in Napa Valley, California, the Tuscan Sun Festival in Cortona, Italy, and the Domaine Forget Festival in Canada in collaboration with cellist Matt Haimovitz. In July 2012, Ms. Delan returned to the Festival del Sole in performances with flutist Maxim Rubstov and pianist Kristin Pankonin.

Ms. Delan won recognition from singing the title role in the world premiere of Gordon Getty’s Joan and the Bells in 1998, a role she has since reprised in France, Germany, the U.S., and Russia, and in the 2002 recording for PentaTone Classics. Critics have praised her depiction of Joan of Arc as “beautifully sung” (International Record Review), “refreshingly unpretentious” (Gramophone Magazine), and “a role she has made her own, with the kind of pure tone one expects of a saint-to-be and the passion one expects from a 19-year-old girl going to her death. Miss Delan is exceptional” (Nevada Events). The soprano reprised this role for the Russian National Orchestra’s Fourth Grand Festival in Moscow in September, 2012.

As a recital artist, her repertoire encompasses the Baroque to the contemporary, and she is privileged to collaborate with composers whose musical lives are still works in progress: Ms. Delan has performed and recorded the music of William Bolcom, John Corigliano, David Garner, Gordon Getty, Jake Heggie, Andrew Imbrie, and Luna Pearl Woolf, among others. In 2009, she performed Getty’s well-known song cycle The White Election, on poems by Emily Dickinson, in a recital presented by the Emily Dickinson Museum in Amherst, Massachusetts with pianist Kristin Pankonin. In 2010, Cal Performances featured Ms. Delan in two concerts in Berkeley, California: The White Election with Mikhail Pletnev at the piano, and in concert with the Russian National Orchestra. Ms. Delan and Ms. Pankonin came together again to perform The White Election at the Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse at Lincoln Center in April, 2012.

Ms. Delan was featured on three recordings released by PentaTone Classics in 2009 (with two additional recordings slated for release in 2013): And If the Song Be Worth a Smile, her debut solo recording of songs by American composers (with pianist Kristin Pankonin and guest artists Matt Haimovitz and Susanne Mentzer); The White Election, a new recording of Getty’s song cycle (with pianist Fritz Steinegger); and as a guest artist on Phenomenon, a recording of works by San Francisco-based composer David Garner. About these recordings, critics have noted, “The performance by Lisa Delan reveals her to be a singer with an unusually versatile voice, ranging from rich operatic tones to Broadway belt, with excellent diction and imaginative characterization. Delan has the ability to tell a story through song very effectively...” (International Record Review); “Lisa Delan has a lovely, bright soprano voice that she can color appropriately...” (Fanfare); and “Her singing is full of thoughtful detail and rings clear (yes, you can actually hear the words), plus her acting is dramatic enough to be direct but is never over the top” (Rochester Democrat and Chronicle). After reviewing Ms. Delan’s recent recordings, Sequenza 21 declared that “As a song interpreter she may well be unequaled.”

Booklet für The Hours Begin to Sing

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO