Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Sono Luminus

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Interpret: Una Sveinbjarnardottir & Tinna Þorsteinsdóttir

Komponist: Louis Couperin (1626-1661), Atli Heimir Sveinsson (1938-2019), Christoph Willibald Gluck (1714-1787), Jórunn Viðar, Magnús Blöndal Jóhannsson, Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643), Hildegard von Bingen (1098-1179), Una Sveinbjarnardóttir (1975), Ole Bull (1810-1880), Jules Massenet (1842-1912), Karólína Eiríksdóttir (1951)

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 192 $ 13,20
DSD 64 $ 13,20
  • Louis Couperin (1626 - 1661):
  • 1Couperin: Pièces de clavecin du manuscrit Bauyn: Unmeasured Prelude No. 7 in A Minor (Arr. U. Sveinbjarnardottir & T. Þorsteinsdóttir for Violin & Piano)01:55
  • Atli Heimir Sveinsson (1938 - 2019):
  • 2Sveinsson: Máríuvísur (Arr. A. Sveinsson)02:40
  • 3Sveinsson: Maríukvæði (Arr. A. Sveinsson)02:56
  • 4Sveinsson: Haustvísur til Máríu (Arr. A. Sveinsson)01:45
  • Christoph Willibald Gluck (1714 - 1787):
  • 5Gluck: Orfeo ed Euridice, Wq. 30: Mélodie (Arr. F. Kreisler for Violin & Piano)02:38
  • Jórunn Viðar (1918 - 2017): Icelandic Suite:
  • 6Viðar: Icelandic Suite: I. Ávarp03:07
  • 7Viðar: Icelandic Suite: II. Óttusöngur02:38
  • 8Viðar: Icelandic Suite: III. Þjóðlag03:03
  • 9Viðar: Icelandic Suite: IV. Fiðlulag03:21
  • 10Viðar: Icelandic Suite: V. Vikivaki03:26
  • Ole Bull (1810 - 1880):
  • 11Bull: I Ensomme Stunde (Arr. U. Sveinbjarnardottir for Violin & Piano)02:57
  • Jules Massenet (1842 - 1912):
  • 12Massenet: Thaïs: Meditation (Arr. for Violin & Piano)04:10
  • Karólína Eiríksdóttir (b. 1951):
  • 13Eiríksdóttir: Winter (Arr. for Violin & Piano)01:22
  • Magnús Blöndal Jóhannsson (1925 - 2005):
  • 14Jóhannsson: In a Dream (Arr. for Violin & Piano)03:00
  • 15Jóhannsson: Lullaby01:11
  • Louis Couperin:
  • 16Couperin: Aubade provençale in the Style of Couperin02:20
  • Claudio Monteverdi (1567 - 1643):
  • 17Monteverdi: Ave Maria gratia plena, SV 213 (Arr. for Violin & Piano)01:21
  • Hildegard von Bingen (1098 - 1179):
  • 18von Bingen: Anima Processional (Arr. for Violin & Piano)02:46
  • Una Sveinbjarnardottir (b. 1975):
  • 19Sveinbjarnardottir: Last Song Before the News04:25
  • Total Runtime51:01

Info zu Last Song

The project is inspired by the moment before the realization of something that drastically changes your life, the moment of just being, existing in the moment.

That moment in time is free and full, mindfulness-ish and unaffected by misery, sorrow, regret, shame, anxiety and depression. In my mind it is bright and has a sense of nostalgia.

The title also refers to a daily tradition on Icelandic radio Rás 1, where a song, “last song before the news” would be played just before the news hour at noon. The song would typically be an Icelandic one, sometimes a lullaby, a love song or an ode to scary and gorgeous nature. Or an Icelandic traditional, sometimes an Italian canzone or a Scandinavian sorrow.

Jórunn Viðar’s piece Icelandic Suite sums up all these elements, a piece written for the 2000 years anniversary of inhabitation in Iceland in 1974.

The lightness and the longing are with us throughout the program except in the title piece of mine, Last Song before the News, where apocalyptic visions are awfully obvious and take over early on.

The album is dedicated to my father, Sveinbjörn Rafnsson, whose lightness and passion for music, poetry and history along with his sense of humor has been a lifeline to many people. (Una Sveinbjarnardóttir)

Una Sveinbjarnardottir, violin
Tinna Þorsteinsdóttir, piano

Keine Biografie vorhanden.

Booklet für Last Song

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO