Acallam na Senorach (An Irish Colloquy) National Chamber Choir of Ireland & Paul Hillier

Cover Acallam na Senorach (An Irish Colloquy)

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: harmonia mundi

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Interpret: National Chamber Choir of Ireland & Paul Hillier

Komponist: Tarik O'Regan

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 88.2 $ 12,50
  • 1I. Prologue to Part One03:24
  • 2II. The Fian07:52
  • 3III. The Spring03:40
  • 4IV. Recitative I01:09
  • 5V. Cas Corach02:33
  • 6VI. Guitar Interlude I03:37
  • 7VII. The Sid05:13
  • 8VIII. Recitative II00:32
  • 9IX. Niam04:35
  • 10X. Bodhran Interlude - Colloquy02:57
  • 11XI. Prologue to Part Two00:44
  • 12XII. Guitar Interlude II03:57
  • 13XIII. Recitative III00:41
  • 14XIV. Cael and Crede05:20
  • 15XV. Cailte02:05
  • 16XVI. Guitar Interlude III01:14
  • 17XVII. Patrick05:56
  • 18XVIII. Recitative IV01:09
  • 19XIX. Fian Paternoster02:30
  • 20XX. Epilogue03:28
  • Total Runtime01:02:36

Info zu Acallam na Senorach (An Irish Colloquy)

Acallam na Senórach, a major new choral work by Tarik O’Regan, received its world premiere in Dublin on November 25th 2010 in a performance by the National Chamber Choir of Ireland under its Artistic Director Paul Hillier.

Sung in English and Middle Irish, the piece takes its title from the c12th century narrative (‘Tales of the Elders’) and follows the story of two legendary heroes, Caílte and Oisín, and their travels around Ireland with Saint Patrick. Over the course of 60 minutes O’Regan’s piece presents six stories from the text using a choir of 16 voices punctuated by interludes from a solo guitar played by Stewart French. Two singers are also called upon to play the traditional Irish frame drum, the bodhráin. Commissioned by the National Chamber Choir, Acallam na Senórach builds on O’Regan’s earlier The Spring, which was premiered at the Cork International Choral Festival in 2008.

“The singing itself is as spot on as you would expect from the National Chamber Choir of Ireland, who were responsible for commissioning the work in the first place. Aside from the sheer quality of their overall sound, there's a lovely sense of intimacy and wonder-filled narration. All told, this is yet another beautiful Tarik O'Regan disc” (BBC)

“O'Regan reveals that he is capable of sustaining interest over what amounts to a 60-minute time frame...a highly effective and, in places, inspired piece, beautifully delivered by Paul Hillier and the National Chamber Choir of Ireland, and cleanly captured in this fine Harmonia Mundi recording.” (Gramophone)

The National Chamber Choir of Ireland
Stewart French, guitar
Jim Higgins & Frank Torpey, bodhrán
Paul Hillier, conductor

Keine Alben gefunden.

Keine Biografie vorhanden.

Booklet für Acallam na Senorach (An Irish Colloquy)

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO