Ravel: Piano Works Jean-Philippe Sylvestre

Cover Ravel: Piano Works

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: ATMA Classique

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Interpret: Jean-Philippe Sylvestre

Komponist: Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 13,20
  • Maurice Ravel (1875 - 1937): Miroirs, M. 43:
  • 1Ravel: Miroirs, M. 43: No. 1, Noctuelles04:59
  • 2Ravel: Miroirs, M. 43: No. 2, Oiseaux tristes04:27
  • 3Ravel: Miroirs, M. 43: No. 3, Une barque sur l'océan (Version for Piano)07:08
  • 4Ravel: Miroirs, M. 43: No. 4, Alborada del gracioso (Version for Piano)06:25
  • 5Ravel: Miroirs, M. 43: No. 5, La vallée des cloches04:57
  • Maurice Ravel:
  • 6Ravel: Menuet sur le nom d'Haydn, M. 5800:57
  • 7Ravel: Pavane pour une infante défunte, M. 19 (Version for Piano)06:14
  • 8Ravel: À la manière de Borodine, M. 63 No. 101:07
  • 9Ravel: Prélude in A Minor, M. 6501:15
  • Le tombeau de Couperin, M. 68:
  • 10Ravel: Le tombeau de Couperin, M. 68: I. Prélude03:30
  • 11Ravel: Le tombeau de Couperin, M. 68: II. Fugue02:53
  • 12Ravel: Le tombeau de Couperin, M. 68: III. Forlane05:08
  • 13Ravel: Le tombeau de Couperin, M. 68: IV. Rigaudon03:27
  • 14Ravel: Le tombeau de Couperin, M. 68: V. Menuet04:54
  • 15Ravel: Le tombeau de Couperin, M. 68: VI. Toccata04:11
  • Total Runtime01:01:32

Info zu Ravel: Piano Works

Canadian pianist Jean-Philippe Sylvestre performs works for piano by Maurice Ravel, recorded on an Erard piano built in 1854. "The concept and performance of a work are affected by the instrument one plays," says Jean-Philippe Sylvestre. "To bring out the Baroque character of two pieces, Le Tombeau de Couperin and Menuet sur le nom de Haydn, I wanted a piano with harpsichord-like articulation and sonority. That is why I decided to record this album on an Erard, a very special piano whose sonority and vibrations recreate the sounds, soul and mood of the time of Ravel and of the first Impressionists." Jean-Philippe Sylvestre has appeared at the prestigious Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, plus all the major concert halls across Europe as well as the National Arts Centre in Ottawa. He is a regularly invited soloist with the Orchestre Metropolitain, the Orchestre symphonique de Quebec, the Orchestre symphonique de Laval, and the Orchestre symphonique de Longueuil.

Jean-Philippe Sylvestre, piano

Jean-Philippe Sylvestre
is the laureate of the prestigious Virginia Parker Prize 2008, the highest distinction from the Canada Council for the Arts. In 2000 at the age of 17, pianist Jean-Philippe Sylvestre won first prize at the prestigious Montreal Symphony Orchestra Competition, as well as the People’s Choice Award at the same competition. He is also laureate of the Young Performer Competition and Concertino Praga International Competition. He was three times recipient of the 1st prize at the Canadian music competition, and at one of these occasions, was the recipient of the highest score of the entire competition. He is the recipient of the studio-prize Paris residency 2016 from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

Mr. Sylvestre has played with conductors such as Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Simon Streatfeild, Christian Schulz, Richard Bradshaw, Alain Trudel, Fabien Gabel, and Rolf Bertsch. Famous conductor Yannick Nézet Séguin qualifies him as “a poet of the piano”. M. Sylvestre has appeared at the prestigious Concertgebouw of Amsterdam, the Gaveau hall in Paris, the Musikverein in Vienna, the Sala 2 Oriol Martorell in Barcelona, the St-Pierre des Cuisines Auditorium of Toulouse, the Palais des Beaux Arts in Brussels, the Fundação de Educação Artística in Brazil, the Wilfrid-Pelletier and Pierre-Mercure halls in Montreal, the Glenn Gould Studio and the George Weston Hall in Toronto, as well as the National Arts Centre in Ottawa. In November 2019, M. Sylvestre has taken part on an Australien tour of seven concerts where he performed in Sydney and Melbourne. He is regularly invited as a soloist by the Orchestre Métropolitain, the Orchestre symphonique de Québec, the Orchestre symphonique de Laval, and the Orchestre symphonique de Longueuil.

Booklet für Ravel: Piano Works

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO