Walton: Improvisations on an Impromptu of Benjamin Britten, Cello Concerto & Symphony No. 2 Paul Watkins, BBC Symphony Orchestra & Edward Gardner

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Chandos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 14,00
  • William Walton (1902 - 1983): Improvisations on an Impromptu of Benjamin Britten, C82:
  • 1Improvisations on an Impromptu of Benjamin Britten, C82: I. Theme - II. Improvisation 103:54
  • 2Improvisations on an Impromptu of Benjamin Britten, C82: III. Improvisation 2 - IV. Improvisation 302:39
  • 3Improvisations on an Impromptu of Benjamin Britten, C82: V. Improvisation 403:53
  • 4Improvisations on an Impromptu of Benjamin Britten, C82: VI. Improvisation 503:08
  • Cello Concerto, C65:
  • 5Cello Concerto, C65: I. Moderato07:54
  • 6Cello Concerto, C65: II. Allegro appassionato06:04
  • 7Cello Concerto, C65: III. Theme - Variation 104:13
  • 8Cello Concerto, C65: III. Variations 2 & 302:49
  • 9Cello Concerto, C65: III. Variations 4, 5 & 606:32
  • Symphony No. 2, C68:
  • 10Symphony No. 2, C68: I. Allegro molto08:32
  • 11Symphony No. 2, C68: II. Lento assai10:07
  • 12Symphony No. 2, C68: III. Passacaglia. Theme. Risoluto - Variations05:39
  • 13Symphony No. 2, C68: III. Passacaglia. Fugato - Coda. Scherzando03:43
  • Total Runtime01:09:07

Info zu Walton: Improvisations on an Impromptu of Benjamin Britten, Cello Concerto & Symphony No. 2

Edward Gardner conducts the BBC Symphony in late music of Sir William Walton.This release follows the successful recording of Walton’s First Symphony and Violin Concerto – one of Chandos’ best-selling recordings for 2014.The Second (and last) Symphony was commissioned for the 750th anniversary, in 1957–58, of the founding of the city of Liverpool, but, delayed by the composition of the Cello Concerto, was only premiered in 1960.Scored for a large and colorful orchestra, it is of compact duration, in the key of G minor, and features angular melodies, sharply dissonant harmonies, and motoric rhythms.The BBC Symphony itself premiered the Cello Concerto in London in 1957.The cello soloist here, exclusive Chandos artist Paul Watkins, is highly praised as a member of the Emerson String Quartet. In this piece, the traditional structure of Walton’s earlier concertos – a moderately paced opening movement followed by a central scherzo – ends in a rich finale consisting of a theme and four ‘improvisations’.The concept of ‘improvisation’ occurs again in the last work on the disc, based on the ‘Impromptu’ of Benjamin Britten’s Piano Concerto.

"Lavishly reproduced in surround sound, these accounts of three accounts of three of Walton’s later, compariatively neglected works are as superbly thought out as they are atmospherically recorded ..." (Paul Driver, The Times (Culture magazine)

"The needlepoint orchestral precision required by the Second Symphony is seriously demanding: George Szell’s 1961 recording with the Cleveland Orchestra set a standard in this respect that remains exceptional. Yet Edward Gardner and the BBC Symphony Orchestra match them as near as makes no difference, while also searching out much more of the work’s range of expression, memorably so in the sow movement’s dark-toned emotionalism captured in ultra-clear recorded sound, with just the right amount of surrounding resonance ..." (Malcolm Hayes, BBC Music Magazine)

Paul Watkins, cello
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Edward Gardner, conductor

Paul Watkins
Acclaimed for his inspirational performances and eloquent musicianship, Paul Watkins enjoys a remarkably varied and distinguished career as soloist, chamber musician and conductor. He regularly appears as concerto soloist with orchestras throughout the world. Recent highlights include concertos with the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, Colorado Symphony, Hong Kong and Royal Flemish Philharmonic Orchestras, and appearances at the BBC Proms as conductor and soloist.

A much sought-after chamber musician, Paul was a member of the Nash Ensemble from 1997 until 2013, when he joined the Emerson String Quartet. He performs regularly with the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center and at festivals worldwide. He was the first ever Music Director of the English Chamber Orchestra, and also served as Principal Guest Conductor of the Ulster Orchestra from 2009 to 2012. Since winning the 2002 Leeds Conducting Competition he has conducted many of the major orchestras throughout the UK, Europe, Asia and Australia.

Paul records exclusively for Chandos Records, with recent releases including Britten’s Cello Symphony, the Walton, Delius, Elgar and Lutoslawski concertos, Mendelssohn’s music for cello and piano, and an ongoing series of British sonatas with his brother, Huw Watkins. In 2014, Paul was appointed Artistic Director of the Great Lakes Chamber Music Festival.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO