Lavinia Meijer & Carel Kraayenhof in Concert Lavinia Meijer & Carel Kraayenhof

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • Luis Bacalov (1933)
  • 1Il postino03:07
  • Enrique Granados (1867-1916)
  • 2Andaluza03:34
  • Carel Kraayenhof (1958)
  • 3So Many Partings03:49
  • Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)
  • 4Lo que vendrá03:25
  • Carel Kraayenhof (1958)
  • 5Desconcierto03:21
  • Anselmo Aieta (1896-1964)
  • 6Palomita blanca03:06
  • Jorge Cardoso (1949)
  • 7Milonga de Cardoso05:06
  • Histoire du Tango
  • 8Bordel 190004:02
  • Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)
  • 9Café 193006:18
  • 10Nightclub 196005:29
  • Lavinia Meijer (1983)
  • 11Hello Stranger04:51
  • Carel Kraayenhof (1958)
  • 12Ñata blanca03:54
  • Pintín Castellanos (1905-1983)
  • 13La puñalada03:31
  • Ennio Morricone (1928)
  • 14Playing Love04:26
  • Mariano Mores (1918)
  • 15Taquito militar03:43
  • Total Runtime01:01:42

Info zu Lavinia Meijer & Carel Kraayenhof in Concert

On the past few years harpist Lavinia Meijer and bandoneón player Carel Kraayenhof have met several times on festivals and concerts. On the stairs of the artist café at Carré Amsterdam the idea popped out: ‘Let’s sit together, play a bit and see if we can come up with a concert repertoire.’ The concerts that quickly followed that idea were a great success and most of them sold out. Thus the idea of recording a live album together. “In Concert”, was recorded on the 7th and 9th of September of this year at Tivoli Vredenburg (NL).

The choice for a live recording was certain one. Both musicians were filled with the warmth of the audience. Those moments can only be registered with a live recording. In one of the songs a mistake was made. This “mistake” sounds actually better than the notes which were on the paper, so we decided to keep it, and it sounds like it was meant to be.

The repertoire consists of milongas, tangos and other beautiful Argentinean, Spanish and Italian compositions from Piazzolla, Bacalov and Morriconne (among others) and three compositions from Carel Kraayenhof himself; one of them is the tribute to his three legged cat ‘Witneus’. Lavinia Meijer makes het debut as composer with het tribute to her niece, who was borne last year, Hello Stranger.

In total the album consists of 15 compositions, one of which is an impressive interpretation of Piazzolla’s three piece Historie du Tango. The already warm sounds from the harp and the bandoneón complete and strengthen each other in this beautiful, passionate repertoire. Kraayenhof and Meijer have made special arrangements to pretty much every piece because for this unique combination of instruments there are no already written compositions. The photos for the album were taken by ‘Zilveren Camera’ winner, Peter van Breukelen. The author Abdelkader Benali wrote a poetic story line about music, longing and coming home.

Lavinia Meijer, harp
Carel Kraayenhof, bandoneon

Lavinia Meijer
born in South-Korea, 1983 and adopted into a Dutch family started to play the harp at the age of 9. Within two years she was admissioned to study at the young talent class of the conservatory of Utrecht (Bachelor) and later at the conservatory of Amsterdam (Master). At both conservatories she graduated with Honours. Erika Waardenburg has been Lavinia’s principal teacher.

Her success at the conservatory of Amsterdam was a prelude on Lavinia’s career to come. She performed only contemporary compositions at her graduation concert, making a firm statement already: Lavinia is here to add new chapters to the history of music.

Besides performing the classic harp repertoire, Lavinia also experiments with electronic music, theatrical music, contemporary music, modern classics, jazz and pop. Several composers e.g. Paul Patterson (UK), Garrett Byrnes, and Jacob TV (Netherlands) have dedicated new compositions to her.

Already at a young age, Lavinia competed in several international harp competitions, winning prizes in the USA, France, Switserland, Israel, and Austria. Soon after her graduation Lavinia received the Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship (London, 2006). In 2007 Lavinia was heralded as the “Rising Star” musician of her generation. She performed solo-recitals at concert halls like Musikverein (Vienna), Carnegie Hall (New York), Philharmonie (Köln), Jerusalem Theater, Seoul Arts Center, Royal Concertgebouw (Amsterdam), Cité-de-la-Musique (Paris), Konzerthus (Stockholm), and Symphony Hall (Birmingham, UK).

In 2009, at the young age of 26, Lavinia received the highest distinction for a classical musician in the Netherlands: the Dutch Music Prize. In 2011 she was the recipient of an Edison Award for her album Fantasies & Impromptus (Channel Classics).

As a featured soloist, Lavinia performed harp concertos with renowned orchestras, such as Royal Concertgebouw Chamber Orchestra Amsterdam, Israel Philharmonics, Amsterdam Sinfonietta, Noord Nederlands Orkest, and Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra. She performed with conductors such as Thierry Fischer, Frans Brüggen, Hannu Lintu, Thomas Ades and Marco Boni.

Her broad interest to find new sounds on and new compositions for the harp has let her to meet the American composer Philip Glass in 2011. He invited her to his concert in Amsterdam where she performed his Metamorphosis I-V on the harp. “You are the special effect of this evening”, he told Lavinia after the show, and he supported Lavinia to record a full album of Glass’ compostions. The result was overwhelming. Metamorphosis/The Hours (Channel Classics) received mostly 5 star reviews (not just in the Dutch press), and reached the certified Platinum status within half a year.

Lavinia’s newest album Einaudi by Lavinia: Passaggio (Sony Classical) consists of pieces by the Italian composer/pianist Ludovico Einaudi. Lavinia has met Mr. Einaudi twice and he encouraged her to work on his pieces and approved of Lavinia’s renditions of famous compositions like Divenire, Passaggio, I Giorni, Nuvole Bianche, Mattina (which was included in the soundtrack of the movie Intouchables) and other Einaudi-classics. Lavinia is known for her dark, deep, and rich timbre in the lower register as played by her left hand, which she combines with gracious notes in the higher register played by her right hand.

Passaggio is recorded at Funkhaus, Berlin. Tonmeister Andreas Neubronner (who recorded 13 Grammy Award winning albums) has captured Lavinia’s performance in what he describes as a ‘Cinemascope sound’, which displays the richness of Lavinia’s incredible performance.

In 2013 she signed an exclusive contract as a recording artist for Sony Classical.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO