Primetime Illusion Trapper Schoepp

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 44.1 $ 12,80
  • 1Shakedown03:25
  • 2It's Over03:11
  • 3Drive-Thru Divorce04:46
  • 4Freight Train03:40
  • 5What You Do To Her03:35
  • 6If All My Nines Were X's03:37
  • 7Backup Plan02:29
  • 8Sleight Of Hand03:55
  • 9TV Shows03:44
  • 10My Comrade05:28
  • 11On, Wisconsin03:38
  • Total Runtime41:28

Info zu Primetime Illusion

Trapper Schoepp wird am 25.01.2019 sein neues Album "Primetime Illusions" veröffentlichen. Produziert wurde die Platte in Milwaukee von Pat Sansone (Wilco, Robyn Hitchcock). Als ersten Vorgeschmack gibt es den Song "On, Wisconsin", der auf einen Textentwurf von Bob Dylan basiert und der heute beim Rolling Stone Premiere feiert. Zusätzlich gibt es eine Minidokumentation dazu, die den Staat Wisconsin beleuchtet.

Dylan hatte den Song damals 1961 als er nach New York gezogen ist bereits angefangen zu schreiben, dann aber nie weiter ausgearbeitet. Ein halbes Jahrhundert später wurden die Textaufzeichnungen von einem früheren Mitbewohner gefunden und dann für $30.000 zur Auktion freigegeben. Trapper sah die Fotografie und entschied spontan das Werk mit seiner Musik zu versehen. “I just connected with it immediately,” sagt Schoepp. “It’s so obvious. I knew immediately that I had to finish the song. I just thought it’s got to be done.” Als der Song fertig war, wurde er an das Management von Bob Dylan geschickt und kurze Zeit das Co-Write credit genehmigt.

“Publishing a song with Bob Dylan – Bob Dylan! – “put wind in my sails."

Diese Motivation führte zu 40 Songideen von denen dann nach der Zusammenarbeit mit Produzent Pat Sansone 10 übrigblieben. “Pat and I were very conscious of not overcooking things, keeping it sparse and letting the songs and the characters who inhabit them speak for themselves.”

Schoepp beschreibt "Primetime Illusions" als ein "Break-Up-Album" und fand aufgrunde politischer Veränderungen in Amerika zu neuen persönlichen und politischen Tiefpunkten: "There’s the break up in the traditional sense, but there was also a break-up with America I was feeling at the time. And then on top of all that, we got a new president. That put me into an even darker space.”

Mit seiner Verschmelzung des Persönlichen und Politischen, verspricht das Album Trapper Schoepp einen festen Platz im Stammbaum der singenden Geschichtenerzähler zu sichern.

“I think a lot about the folk process,” he says, “how things are passed down to the next generation and are reinvented and evolve. That’s really important to me, to keep the spirit of what someone might consider old new.

“Dylan, in his MusiCares speech a few years ago, made the point that his role in music is simply extending the line. That’s my whole M.O. as well. I want to push this music forward like my life depends on it. It’s all I have.”

Trapper Schoepp, Gesang, Gitarre

Trapper Schoepp
is a young man who’s befriended a strange and diverse cast of characters during his 24 years. That small army of rogues and rebels, drifters and dreamers, soldiers and schemers populate his songs, their tragedies and comedies, their lives and deaths recalled in his finely etched musical vignettes.

The Minnesota-born, Wisconsin-based tunesmith and teller of tales (both tall and true), returns with his second effort Rangers & Valentines (Xtra Mile Recordings). The record follows his critically acclaimed 2012 debut Run Engine, Run, with his band the Shades. That LP earned notices in Rolling Stone, American Songwriter and Paste, with the folks at Huffington Post calling him a “master storyteller” and PBS hailing his "story songs that explore and explode the conventions of rock and roll."

On Rangers & Valentines, Schoepp defies the limitations of the standard-issue Americana platter, hopping genres – you’ll hear lots of brass, backing singers and B-3 -- as the songs build to delirious musical highs. His narratives, meanwhile, find subjects in the narrow margins of society, the strange twists (literal and metaphorical) in the weather, and the vagaries of a troubadour’s transient life – with lyrics that flash a lacerating wit and humanist streak that’s at the core of his craft.

Produced by pop polymath and Raconteurs member Brendan Benson at his Readymade Studios in Nashville, the record finds Schoepp handling vocals, guitar and harmonica. He’s aided by an array of estimable musicians including his brother and musical-foil-since-birth Tanner Schoepp (providing bass guitar and vocal harmonies), Steve Selvidge (The Hold Steady), John Davis (Superdrag), the McCrary Sisters -- even comedian and WTF podcaster Marc Maron chips in on background vocals and lead guitar.

Schoepp shines up the well-worn clichés of singer-songwriterdom and renders them anew. Evoking a series of vivid protagonists and settings (fittingly, each track will have its own accompanying video, solidifying the cinematic quality of this set) his work variously recalls prime Prine (John, that is), the nuances of Newman (Randy, of course), the boozy bonhomie of The Replacements, and the unflinching language of someone well-versed in the Zevonian dialect.

Schoepp mixes fact and family lore to conjure the hardscrabble history “Ballad of Olof Johnson” and chides modern-day wannabes on “Lost Cowboy.” The road story “Ogalalla” answers the question: what happens to your mind when you’re snowbound in Nebraska with nothing but a bottle of Nyquil and The Hobbit at the local picture show for company? Meanwhile, the arch love song satire “Talking Girlfriend Blues” deftly explains how to preserve your dignity while hitchhiking to a date – and what to do when your ride turns out to have eyes for the same girl.

Elsewhere, ”Don't Go" offers a poetic post-9/11 story of love and war; while “Settlin’ or Sleepin’ Around" questions modern-day swipe right, hook up culture. Schoepp continues his affinity for songs set in hospitals with "Mono Pt. II" – which explores the kissing disease and the institutional runaround of health care in America (unfortunately a familiar subject for the young man). And he pays tribute to old friends and outsized characters with “For Jonny” (dedicated to his longtime drummer Jonny Philip) and the heart-rending requiem “Dream.”

Having released his debut on SideOneDummy, Rangers & Valentines is being put out by London-based Xtra Mile Recordings. Hipped to Schoepp’s work by fellow singer-songwriter Frank Turner, among others, Xtra Mile honcho Charlie Caplowe quickly signed him to the label.

Schoepp – who’s already crisscrossed the country sharing stages with fellow travelers like The Wallflowers, The Jayhawks and The Old 97's – will be back on the road throughout 2016 in support of Ranger & Valentines, starting with a 3-week run throughout the UK and Europe supporting Jesse Malin.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO