Cello Solo Journey Luciano Tarantino

Cover Cello Solo Journey

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 12,80
  • Paul Tortelier (1914 - 1990): Suite mon cirque:
  • 1Suite mon cirque: I. En piste00:41
  • 2Suite mon cirque: II. Poneys03:08
  • 3Suite mon cirque: III. L'Escamoteur01:58
  • 4Suite mon cirque: IV. Paillettes02:45
  • 5Suite mon cirque: V. L'Hypnotiseur01:56
  • 6Suite mon cirque: VI. Haute voltage03:44
  • 7Suite mon cirque: VII. Dejà fini…01:40
  • Sergei Prokofiev (1891 - 1953):
  • 8Cello Solo Sonata in C-Sharp Minor, Op. 13407:59
  • Mstislav Rostropovich (1927 - 2007):
  • 9Study in E-Flat Major03:18
  • Alexander Nikolayevich Tcherepnin (1899 - 1977): Suite:
  • 10Suite: I. Quasi cadenza01:47
  • 11Suite: II. —01:19
  • 12Suite: III. —01:41
  • 13Suite: IV. Vivace01:41
  • Miklós Rózsa (1907 - 1995):
  • 14Toccata capricciosa, Op. 3607:18
  • Giovanni Sollima (b. 1962):
  • 15Alone04:36
  • Isaac Albéniz (1860 - 1909): Suite Española No. 1, Op. 47:
  • 16Suite Española No. 1, Op. 47: V. Asturia07:11
  • Astor Piazzolla (1921 - 1992):
  • 17Tango Etude, No .303:43
  • Rogerio y Taguell (1882 - 1956):
  • 18Suite espagnole No. 1: I. Flamenco02:21
  • Carter Brey (b. 1954):
  • 19Tango para Ilaria03:28
  • Ilse de Ziah (b. 1968):
  • 20Solace in Darkness05:16
  • Sebastien Diezig (b. 1983):
  • 21Blues, Op. 101:49
  • Giovanni Sollima:
  • 22Lamentatio08:21
  • Total Runtime01:17:40

Info zu Cello Solo Journey

A voyage across a century of solo cello repertoire from Europe and America.

When the Catalan cellist Pablo Casals revived the solo suites of Bach in the first decades of the last century, he reminded both audiences and composers of the huge potential of his instrument to hold the stage in its own right, no less than a violin or a piano. Inspired by his charisma, and that of his successors such as Tortelier and Rostropovich, many modern composers have followed Bach’s example. The Italian cellist presents music by ten of them on this exciting debut album for Brilliant Classics.

Tortelier and Rostropovich are represented by their own, little-known but highly imaginative works – a Circus Suite and an innocently titled but fearsomely challenging study respectively. Carter Brey, the principal cellist of the New York Philharmonic, has also written for the instrument with inside knowledge, in a tango of big, seductive gestures preceded on Tarantino’s album by Latin-themed showpieces from Albéniz, Piazzolla and Rogerio y Taguell.

Each half of the album is brought to a reflective close with a soliloquy by the modern Italian composer Giovanni Sollima. The cello’s melancholy moods are further explored by Ilse de Ziah and Sebastian Diezig, but Tarantino has chosen and ordered his repertoire to display the cello’s expressive range to its fullest. Mixing familiar and little-known composers, it’s a perfect introduction to the ever-expanding universe of solo cello music beyond Bach.

Born in 1977, Luciano Tarantino is a performer and teacher with his origins in Puglia, in the far south of Italy. He has played with many of today’s greatest conductors and founded a music festival in the region of his birth. On this recording he plays a fine 1736 cello by Antonio Testore.

This stimulating program takes the listener on a journey of discovery, a musical universe captured in 20th century original music for cello solo, by such diverse composers as Sergei Prokofiev, Mstslav Rostropovich, Paul Tortelier, Giovanni Sollima, Astor Piazzolla, Alexander Tcherepnin, Isaac Albéniz and others. The music exploits the instrumental and musical possibilities of the cello to the utmost, and sometimes even beyond.

Italian cellist Luciano Tarantino is an enterprising and versatile musician, active as orchestral player, chamber music player and soloist. With the present program he embarked on an extensive international tour.

Luciano Tarantino, cello

Luciano Tarantino
Born in 1977; he begins the study of the cello at the age of 10 years; he gets a diploma with the maximum of the vows in a few years at the Conservatoire “N.Piccinni” of Bari with the master G. Melisi. At the age of 16 years he wins a scholarship for young talents promoted by UE, and he is admitted to attend the cello course held by M° Franco Maggio Ormezowski, at the Academy “Arturo Toscanini“ of Bologna. Under the guide of the Master Ormezowski for further 10 years, and at the same time under the guide of M° Geringas, Monighetti, Slowacewski, Smith, Mork and Rostropovich he acquires such a great experience and ability, so that at the age of 20, he is qualified to the competition to become a member of the Symphonic Orchestra of RAI (Radio-Television-Italian), where he worked for 7 years. He participates in numerous International Competitions, coming among the first places. He plays as first cello in numerous and prestigious Italian and foreign orchestras under the direction of masters such as: Lorin Mazeel, Aleksandr Lazarev, George Pehlivanian, Eliahu Inbal, Walter Attanasi, Jeffrey Tate, Valerij Gergiev, Georges Pretre, Gianandrea Noseda, Giuseppe Sinopoli, Yutaka Sado, Kirill Petrenko, Zoltàn Peskò, Lù Jia, Rafael Frùhbeck de Burgos, Simon Pretre, Daniel Oren, and others. As regards his chamber music career, he has been involved involved in different formations which span from the duet to the octet, in performances in International theatres like Kabukiza in Tokyo, Operà Garnier in Paris, Real Theatre in Madrid, Hall Petrassi, Hall Sinopoli , Parco of the Musical park in Rome, beside Moscow, Vilnius, Stockholm, Istanbul, Peking, Seoul, Strasburgo, Lugano, Johannesburg, Beirut, etc.

He is Teacher of Cello at the State School “Giustina Rocca“ of Trani. In May 2014 he founds the Cultural Association “Note di Notte” and he gives start to numerous musical reviews under his artistic direction. He plays a precious Italian cello “Carlo Antonio Testore 1736”.

Booklet für Cello Solo Journey

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO