Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: DeepMatter Records

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Nu Jazz

Interpret: PYJÆN

Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 48 $ 12,00
  • 1Aperitif02:26
  • 2The Nightbus04:56
  • 3Beetle Juice03:52
  • 4Free Your Dreams II (Interlude)00:36
  • 5Disco Boy03:35
  • 6Moonlight03:26
  • 7Stay Home05:00
  • 8Mr. People Pleaser04:11
  • 9Feast03:52
  • 10Shipwreck (Interlude)00:29
  • 11The Movement03:39
  • 12Goodbye03:24
  • 13By Your Side04:33
  • Total Runtime43:59

Info zu Feast

PYJÆN are delighted to announce the release of their second album 'Feast', planned for September 2021 on DeepMatter Records. The five-piece outfit reaches inside the deep, multidimensional well of what is broadly called Jazz, bringing together all its diverse components in a singular, emotional sound. After setting a blueprint for their multifaceted artistry, combining cross-genre sensibilities with ferocious talent on their first two releases, PYJÆN has been busy writing and recording music for their second album, their most accomplished offering yet. ‘Feast’ was recorded at Peter Gabriel's legendary Real World Studios in Bath over a full week in November 2020. This proved to be an unforgettable experience, which elevated the music and created an unrivalled connection between the 5 band members and the albums’ featured artists Nix Northwest, Elisa Imperilee, Hilts and Corto Alto.

With the recording of this new record, each member of the group brought their own specific flavour to the table. They explain: “We want the album to showcase our growing abilities and confidence as a group of 5 individuals, each with strong personalities and varied sets of influences, while still leaving room for featured artists, an exercise we thoroughly enjoyed on our 'Sage Secrets' EP with Blue Lab Beats and Odette Peters.” The EP reached over 1M streams on Spotify within only 6 months, testimony that the band has become a major force in the UK "Jazz and beyond" scene. Their new album will fearlessly navigate the world of funk, jazz, hip-hop and punk. With their trademark raw energy, their objective is to bring people together in their love for music.

Adventurous songwriting, meticulous timing, incredibly tight horn arrangements and an obvious joy to play together are the PYJÆN trademarks. These are brought to the table in ‘Feast’ through vibrant melodies and rich cadences. The band presents a full course musical experience with four singles: in ‘Beetle Juice’ the band joins forces with rapper Nix Northwest to offer a delicious tune characterized by an easygoing yet alluring atmosphere. ‘The Nightbus’ sees a vivacious journey narrated by enticing piano, guitar and trumpet motifs. ‘Moonlight’ sets a sultry tone with Elisa Imperilee’s ethereal vocals accompanied by delightful and intricate beat sequences. ‘Stay Home’ 'Stay Home' is the final installment before PYJÆN's great ‘Feast’ - this time seeing the band bring in Scottish Jazz Band of the Year, corto.alto (Liam Shortall) who lays down his signature trombone over the addictive bass line from the band's Ben Crane. With its mouth-watering combinations of jazz, ‘Feast’ is a witness to the band's exponential growth, taking listeners on a vivid sensory experience

Formed in 2016, PYJÆN is composed of Dani Diodato (guitar), Dylan Jones (trumpet), Ben Vize (sax), Benjamin Crane (bass) and Charlie Hutchinson (drums). Releasing their debut self-titled album to wide critical and public acclaim, they have gathered support from the likes of Gilles Peterson, Huey Morgan, Jazz FM, and Clash Magazine to name a few. Live, as seen at A Love Supreme, Ronnie Scott's, Jazz Cafe or Brainchild Festival, the atmosphere is sizzling and the sense of enjoyment communicated from the stage is infectious.

Dani Diodato, guitar
Dylan Jones, trumpet, organ, piano, synths
Ben Vize, saxophone, organ, piano, soprano, synths
Charlie Hutchinson, drums
Benjamin Crane, bass, synths
Additional musicians:
Nix Northwest, vocals [Beetle Juice]
Liam Shortall, trombone [Stay Home, Feast, The Movement, Goodbye]
Elisa Imperilee, vocals [Moonlight]
Rosie Frater-Taylor, vocals [Apertif]
Reuben James, organ, keyboards [Moonlight, By Your Side]
Joe Armon-Jones, keyboards [The Movement]
Nicola Guida, keyboards [Stay Home]
B-Ahwe, vocals [Mr. People Pleaser]
Hilts, vocals [Mr. People Pleaser]
Byulah, vocals [By Your Side]
Renato Paris, vocals [By Your Side]

Based in London, PYJÆN is a band with its common link in improvised music and the jazz tradition, but with vision of pushing music forward in new directions. The sound of PYJÆN has many influences… Rock, electro, afrobeat, hip hop and jazz fusion being a few of them.

Jazz Plus Productions has been booking dates across the UK for the band in 2018, culminating in a tour in November to support the release of their album.

Having all met at Trinity Laban College of music, PYJÆN have the shared goal of exploring life through musical expression and perfecting their art.

PYJÆN is a collective of close friends with similar aims and passions; to create music and connect with, and bring people together.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO