Cover Le monde d'hier

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: ATMA Classique

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Interpret: Mathieu Lussier & Francis Perron

Komponist: Edward Elgar (1857-1934), Charles Gounod (1818-1893), Jules Massenet (1842-1912), Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 14,70
  • Jules Massenet (1842 - 1912):
  • 1Lent et sombre01:50
  • Philippe Gaubert (1879 - 1941): Sicilienne:
  • 2Sicilienne: I. Andantino quasi allegretto (Arr. for Bassoon & Piano)01:13
  • Edward Elgar (1857 - 1934):
  • 3Romance, Op. 62 (Arr. for Bassoon & Piano)05:10
  • Eugène Bourdeau (1850 - 1926):
  • 4Bassoon Solo No. 304:43
  • Thomas Dunhill (1877 - 1946): Lyric Suite, Op. 96:
  • 5Lyric Suite, Op. 96: I. Allegretto amabile01:36
  • 6Lyric Suite, Op. 96: II. Scherzino. Allegro molto giocoso01:17
  • 7Lyric Suite, Op. 96: III. Nocturne. Andante con moto, grazioso01:54
  • 8Lyric Suite, Op. 96: IV. Intermezzo alla gavotta. Animato01:31
  • 9Lyric Suite, Op. 96: V. Vivace, capriccioso assai01:32
  • Eugène Bourdeau:
  • 10Bassoon Solo No. 1 in C Minor05:20
  • Herbert Howells (1892 - 1983):
  • 11Minuet (Grace for a Fresh Egg)01:37
  • Camille Saint-Saëns (1835 - 1921): Bassoon Sonata in G Major, Op. 168:
  • 12Bassoon Sonata in G Major, Op. 168: I. Allegro moderato02:51
  • 13Bassoon Sonata in G Major, Op. 168: II. Allegro scherzando03:49
  • 14Bassoon Sonata in G Major, Op. 168: III. Molto adagio - Allegro moderato06:19
  • William Hurlstone (1876 - 1906): Bassoon Sonata in F Major:
  • 15Bassoon Sonata in F Major: I. Vivace04:37
  • 16Bassoon Sonata in F Major: II. Ballade. Moderato, ma sempre a piacere04:49
  • 17Bassoon Sonata in F Major: III. Allegretto03:02
  • 18Bassoon Sonata in F Major: IV. Moderato04:20
  • Gabriel Pierné (1863 - 1937):
  • 19Solo de concert, Op. 3505:43
  • Eugène Bourdeau:
  • 20Bassoon Solo No. 2 in B Minor05:58
  • Charles Gounod (1818 - 1893):
  • 21Marche funèbre d'une marionnette, CG 583 (Arr. G. Emerson for Bassoon & Piano)03:41
  • Total Runtime01:12:52

Info zu Le monde d'hier

In Le monde d’hier, bassonist Mathieu Lussier and pianist Francis Perron explore French and English repertoire for bassoon written at beginning of the 20th century.

The composers recorded here, including Elgar, Gounod, Massenet, and Saint-Saëns, fully embraced the Romantic movement of their era. Gabriel Pierné’s almost jazzy Solo de concert rubs shoulders with the noble and introspective Romance by Edward Elgar. Lussier has also chosen grand sonatas by Camille Saint-Saëns and William Hurlstone, as well as smaller works and short vignettes by Herbert Howells, Eugène Bourdeau, Charles Gounod, Jules Massenet, and Philippe Gaubert.

Mathieu Lussier, bassoon
Francis Perron, piano

Mathieu Lussier
is one of the most active early music bassoonists in North America. He is called upon to act as principal bassoon with such ensembles as Ensemble Arion (Montreal) ,Les Violons du Roy (Quebec City) and Apollo’s Fire (Cleveland). He is also frequently invited to play with groups like Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra (Toronto) and the Boston Early-Music Festival.

He teaches Baroque bassoon at McGill University and modern bassoon as the Université du Québec à Montréal. Also very active as a chamber musician, being member of Ensemble Pentaèdre of Montreal, the Caliban Quartet of Bassoonists and Musica Franca.

His solo recordings include the Concerto for oboe and bassoon in G major by Vivaldi, the first available recording of Graupner’s Concerto in B flat major, Telemann’s Concerto for 2 flutes and bassoon as well as a CD devoted to Michel Corrette with the gamba duo Les Voix Humaines. In the past years he has released CDs of François Devienne’s music for bassoon and strings, sonatas for bass instruments by Boismortier with Musica Franca and a disc of flute and bassoon concerti of Vivaldi, with Claire Guimond and Arion.

Mathieu Lussier is also a composer and his works are regularly performed in concert in Canada and in the United States. «Bassango» and «Valstango», for bassoon quartet, have been recorded by the Toronto Caliban Quartet; «Promenade à Venise», a commission by the Ensemble des Idées heureuses was premiered in Montreal in October 2003; «Old Spanish from Cuba» was greeted with much applause at its April 2004 premiere by the Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra of Toronto. The «Five Caprices for bassoon», following their recording by bassoonist Nadina Mackie, were the subject of a master class at the prestigious Curtis Institute of Philadelphia.

Francis Perron
wide experience as chamber musician, accompanist and vocal coach have made him a much sought-after collaborator. This led him to work closely with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, the Opéra de Montréal, the Orchestre symphonique de Québec, the Wienn Kammeroper, the Vienna, Zurich Winterfur and ARD Musik Wettwerb conservatories, the Salzburg Summer Academy, the Freiburg University, the Avignon International Violin Competition, the Fritx Kreisler International Violin Competition in Vienna, the Royaumont Festival and the Montreal International Music Competition, among others.

Francis Perron has taught master classes at the Vancouver International Song Institute, Orford Music, Mexico Liederfest, at the Paris and Lyon conservatories as well as the New England Conservatory in Boston. In 2013, he won the prize for best voice-piano duo at the Positively Poulenc Competition in New York. He has performed in recitals with prominent singers such as François Le Roux, Nathalie Paulin and Julie Boulianne.

A founding member of the Orford Six Pianos ensemble and a member of the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne (NEM) since 2017, Francis Perron has made numerous records and has been heard frequently on CBC’s French and English networks as well as on France Musique. He is currently an associate professor at the Université de Montréal’s Faculty of Music, where he is also in charge of the piano accompaniment program in addition to being the vice-dean for international relations.

Booklet für Le monde d'hier

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO