Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: earMUSIC

Genre: R&B

Subgenre: Funk

Interpret: Incognito feat. Tony Momrelle

Komponist: Jean-Paul 'Bluey' Maunick

Das Album enthält Albumcover

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • 1Amplify My Soul, Pt. 102:17
  • 2I Couldn't Love You More04:28
  • 3Rapture05:00
  • 4Hands Up If You Wanna Be Loved03:57
  • 5Hats (Makes Me Wanna Holler)04:07
  • 6Silver Shadow05:00
  • 7Deeper Still03:38
  • 8Amplify My Soul, Pt. 203:04
  • 9Something 'Bout July06:06
  • 10Day or Night03:05
  • 11Wind Sorceress02:45
  • 12Another Way04:37
  • 13I See the Sun05:47
  • 14Never Known a Love Like This05:28
  • 15The Hands of Time04:20
  • 16Stop Running Away06:11
  • Total Runtime01:09:50

Info zu Amplified Soul

Kaum zu glauben, aber Incognito, das Projekt des Gitarristen Jean-Paul „Bluey“ Maunick, gibt es bereits seit 35 Jahren. Dieses Jubiläum feiert der Bandleader mit der Veröffentlichung des 16. Studioalbums, zu dem er auch aus dem umfangreichen Ex-Line-up einige frühere Incognito-Akteure, darunter Synthesizer-Wizzard Ski Oakenfull und Keyboarder Matt Cooper und Gäste wie die Sängerin Carleen Anderson, den Jamiroquai-Schlagzeuger Nick Van Gelder oder die erst 22-jährige, frische australische Soulstimme Chiara Hunter einlud.

Es würde verwundern, wenn Bluey gerade im Jubiläumsjahr vom gewohnten Pfad abweicht. Dem ist natürlich nicht so. Also hören wir den über Jahrzehnte kultivierten und bewährten Incognito-Cocktail aus tanzbarem Jazz-Funk, geschmackvoll mit Soul und Latin gewürzt. Das ist zwar nicht neu, aber derart perfekt und munter inszeniert, dass Incognitos fröhlicher „Amplified Soul“ auch wieder Spaß macht.

Jean-Paul 'Bluey' Maunick, vocals, guitar
Katie Leone, vocals
Vanessa Haynes, vocals
Chiara Hunter, vocals
Tony Momrelle, vocals
Nigel Hitchcock, alto saxophone
Jamie Anderson, tenor saxophone
Sid Gould, trumpet, flugelhorn
Trevor Mires, trombone
Matt Cooper, piano, Fender Rhodes piano, synthesizer
Francis Hylton, bass
Francesco Mendolia, drums
Joao Caetano, percussion

were originally formed by Jean-Paul 'Bluey' Maunick and Paul 'Tubbs' Williams in 1979. Both were the original members of the late-'70s disco-funk group Light of the World. Whist Tubbs had been a contributing member of another L.O.T.W. off shot Beggar & Co, Bluey had formed Freeez with Jonny Rocca and Peter Maas, but throughout the time that they worked on other projects they would meet at Bluey's house in North London to play music in a makeshift bedroom studio, for they both had a musical affinity and an undying love for funky jazz.

They decided to take a couple of their home made jams into the studio, and so it is that Incognito debuted with the single 'Parisienne Girl' (which also featured another L.O.T.W member Peter Hinds) and released the 1981 LP Jazz Funk. The planned second album 'Behind the mask' in 1983 went into a jazz rock fusion direction and came out under another name (The Warriors). Throughout the 80's Bluey continued to write material for his group, even while working with Maxi Priest, Total Contrast, Steven Dante and others. Tubbs went on to work with George Michael and Rosie Gaines and later moved to the Netherlands. By the beginning of the 1990s, DJ legend and early Incognito fan Gilles Peterson had founded the Talkin' Loud label and he made Incognito one of his first signings. The 1991 single 'Always There' (with vocals by Jocelyn Brown) became a Top Ten hit as part of Britain's booming acid jazz scene, prompting the release of Incognito's official second album 'Inside Life'. It was largely a studio affair, with Bluey and engineer Simon Cotsworth directing a large cast with many of the best musicians in Britain's fertile groove community.

In 1992 they released Tribes, Vibes and Scribes. Bluey added American vocalist Maysa Leak. and cover of Stevie Wonder's 'Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing' became another hit for the band. The album ascended Britain's pop charts and went on to feature in the America's contemporary jazz charts. The third album, 'Positivity' in 1993 became the group's biggest album success, with much attention across Europe as well as Britain. That album also spawned 'Deep Waters' which would become their biggest radio hit in the USA to date!

The band toured relentlessly and Pamela Anderson and Joy Malcolm were brought in as featured vocalists on their 1995 world-wide hit album 100° and Rising. Leak returned though... appearing on the following year's luscious and warm sounding 'Beneath the Surface'.

Incognito later expanded their discography with 1996's Remixed which featured the dons of the dance scene Masters At Work, David Morales, Roger Sanchez and Pete Rock, 1998's Tokyo Live, and 1999's No Time Like the Future which featured the hit 'Nights Over Egypt'. The group's next two albums were again made without Leak, 2001's Life Stranger Than Fiction and 2003's Dome / Edel debut Who Needs Love, which featured Brazilian vocalist Ed Motta, Joy Rose & Kelly Sae.

More releases on Dome records followed with Adventures in Black Sunshine In 2004 featuring the late George Duke on the cut 'Minding My Business'. The Aptly named eleventh album 'Eleven' featuring Imaani and Tony Momrelle followed in 2005. Bees + Flowers + Things appeared at the end of 2006. The album was a mix of cover versions along with stripped down re-recordings of four Incognito classics.

In 2008 Bluey and company released Tales from the Beach and More Tales Remixed. In 2010 they issued two albums: Live in London: The 30th Anniversary Concert and the studio set Transatlantic R.P.M., featuring guest appearances by Chaka Khan, Mario Biondi, Leon Ware, Al McKay, Christian Urich from Tortured Soul, Ursula Rucker, and Maysa among others. A cover of the classic Boz Scaggs 'Lowdown' saw the band international status grow more and more popular. 'Surreal' in 2012 featured Vanessa Haynes and two newcomers Natalie Williams and Mo Brandis with the addition of new younger musicians in the rhythm section, and once again the band took on a fresh direction on an old musical theme and provided their fans with unforgettable live shows.

The band celebrates it's 35th birthday in 2014 and the release of their 16th studio album.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO