Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • 1Sinning05:07
  • 2Suffer04:15
  • 3Repentance (Forgive Me)03:51
  • 4Saved07:09
  • 5Atlantic City Gambler05:48
  • 6I'll Find My Way To You05:16
  • 7Don't Mess With The Messer04:52
  • 8On Your Knees06:30
  • Total Runtime42:48

Info zu Muse

„Muse“ was the last album of Jones's disco trilogy recorded with producer Tom Moulton, which began in 1977 with debut „Portfolio“. As in the case of two previous records, the first side of the album is a continuous medley of four songs, joined by a narrative about someone who has sinned. The second side, however, consists of disco songs with no lyrical relation to one another. All album art, including the cover image, is by Richard Bernstein.

Great work from Grace Jones - still riding high on a disco wave here, but also finding her own space and sound too! The mighty Tom Moulton produced, ensuring some great sound for the set - and arrangements are by Thor Baldursson and John Davis, both of whom bring in nice sense of fullness, but never smother Grace too much - a key factor, given that her vocal approach is often a bit more restrained than some of the other disco divas of the time. There's less covers here than before, and Grace herself even penned some of the tunes. Titles include 'Suffer', 'Sinning', 'Saved', 'Atlantic City Gambler', 'On Your Knees', and 'Don't Mess With The Messer“.

Grace Jones, vocals
Thor Baldursson, keyboards, arrangements
Don Renaldo, strings, horns
Craig Snyder, guitar
Jimmy Williams, bass
Keith Benson, drums
Jim Walker, percussion
Larry Washington, percussion
Carla Benson, background vocals
Evette Benton, background vocals
Carl Helm, background vocals
Phil Hurt, background vocals
Barbara Ingram, background vocals
Sweethearts of Sigma, background vocals
Ron Tyson, background vocals
Carl Davis, arrangements

Recorded from 1976-1979 at Sigma Sound Studios, Phila., PA
Recorded, mixed and engineered by Arthur Stoppe
Mastered by José Rodriguez at Frankford/Wayne, N.Y.
Produced by Tom Moulton

Digitally remastered

Grace Jones
Born in Jamaica in 1948, Grace Jones became an icon of modern music with a pioneering electronic pop sound and an inimitable style. The singer and actress started out as a model, regularly appearing at the New York City nightclub Studio 54, before securing a record deal with Island Records in 1977, which resulted in a string of dance-club hits.

In the late 1970s, she adapted the emerging electronic music style and adopted a severe, androgynous look. Many of her singles were hits on Billboard’s Hot Dance Club Play and Hot Dance Airplay charts and Jones was also able to find mainstream success in Europe, particularly the United Kingdom. Her most notable albums are Warm Leatherette, Nightclubbing and Slave to the Rhythm, with big hits including “Pull Up to the Bumper”, “I’ve Seen That Face Before (Libertango)”, “Private Life”, “Slave to the Rhythm” and “I’m Not Perfect (But I’m Perfect for You)”.

An icon of modern music, Jones has since also acted and featured in a series of fashion and photography projects, not least for The Vinyl Factory in collaboration with groundbreaking light artist Chris Levine.

While she enjoyed her greatest success in the late 70′s and 80’s, Jones continues to write and perform, collaborating with artists and musicians, and is recognized as one of the most important and influential figures in the history of pop music.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO