Woodstock: Music From The Original Soundtrack And More, Vol. 1 Various Artists

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Warner Music Group

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Classic Rock

Das Album enthält Albumcover

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • 1I Had A Dream02:53
  • 2Going Up The Country05:53
  • 3Freedom05:26
  • 4Rock & Soul Music02:09
  • 5Coming Into Los Angeles02:50
  • 6At The Hop02:34
  • 7The Fish Cheer / I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To-Die Rag03:17
  • 8Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man (feat. Jeffrey Shurtleff)03:09
  • 9Joe Hill05:33
  • 10Suite: Judy Blue Eyes08:23
  • 11Sea Of Madness04:25
  • 12Wooden Ships05:57
  • 13We're Not Gonna Take It06:43
  • 14With A Little Help From My Friends10:16
  • 15Soul Sacrifice13:46
  • 16I'm Going Home [Live Woodstock Version] (Album Version with additional stage dialogue)09:49
  • 17Volunteers03:45
  • 18Medley: Dance To The Music / Music Lover / I Want To Take You Higher14:04
  • 19Rainbows All Over Your Blues03:53
  • 20Love March10:21
  • 21Star Spangled Banner / Purple Haze / Instrumental Solo13:42
  • Total Runtime02:18:48

Info zu Woodstock: Music From The Original Soundtrack And More, Vol. 1

It's almost impossible to regard the soundtrack albums for the Michael Wadleigh documentary Woodstock, simply as music, apart from the event that inspired them or what that event has come to represent. Music from the Original Soundtrack and More: Woodstock was originally released by Atlantic's Cotillion imprint as a three-LP set in a gatefold sleeve. It topped the Billboard Charts for four weeks and sold two million copies. It sold so well that Cotillion issued a sequel double album of more music from the festival that never appeared in the film. The LPs took the music out of the historical sequence of the festival and re-ordered (and edited) it for a sense of flow. Whether or not it accomplished its objective has been the subject of much debate and beyond this review's scope. What is relevant is that these performances signified via their spotty recording quality -- and sometimes dodgy performances -- that there was an amazing array of legendary talent on hand at Woodstock; though not all of it is captured here. Rhino's 2009 remastered edition of this set on a double CD is the cleanest edition yet, but even it has problems: the source tapes were problematic at best. It restores the original LP order, features new liners by Gene Sculatti, and has more photos in the booklet. Musically, the second disc sounds the least dated with its over the top performances by a shockingly great Santana with 'Soul Sacrifice,' Ten Years After's guitar workout on 'I'm Goin' Home,' Jimi Hendrix's 'Star Spangled Banner' medley (still a stunner after all these decades); the Jefferson Airplane's rocking and raucous version of 'Volunteers,' and the orgiastic Sly & the Family Stone medley that includes 'Dance to the Music,' 'Music Lover,' and an insanely great 'I Want to Take You Higher.' There is some filler as well thanks to a drippy John Sebastian track called 'Rainbows All Over Your Blues,' and an indulgent 'Love March' by an out-of-their-prime Butterfield Blues Band.

Disc one is more complex. There are some fine moments here, especially the CS&N and CSN&Y tunes, including 'Suite: Judy Blue Eyes' (perhaps not perfect in voice but a very inspired performance), and 'Wooden Ships,' with a decent if not thrilling 'Sea of Madness,' in between. There is a desultory 'We're Not Gonna Take It' from the Who that is out of context, given they performed the entirety of Tommy. While Canned Heat's 'Goin' Up the Country' has aged well, Country Joe & the Fish's 'The 'Fish' Cheer/I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To-Die Rag' has not, nor has Joan Baez's performance of 'Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man.' Her version of 'Joe Hill' is generic. Richie Havens' 'Freedom' is still thrilling, especially since it is preceded by Sebastian opening the entire set up with another duller-than-dull 'I Had a Dream.' The 'Summer of Love' had been over for two years by the time Woodstock took place, and riots in Watts, Detroit, Newark, and other places had occurred, as well as an escalation in the Vietnam War. The most out of place thing here is Sha Na Na's 'At the Hop,' which sounds surreal but ragged and right, and Joe Cocker's 'With a Little Help from My Friends,' that closes disc one; it's electrifying if rather out of tune. So as it stands, Woodstock is a wildly mixed bag, and not particularly pleasant to listen to, but it does indeed have a significant place in the rock pantheon and should be regarded more as an artifact than as an album in its own right. (Thom Jurek, AMG)

Recorded in August 15–18, 1969 Produced by Eric Blackstead

Digitally remastered

A compilation dedicated to funk and pre – zouk period, which has never been documented before. It is compilated by specialists of the genre: Julien Achard (Digger's Digest) and Nicolas SKLIRIS (ex-Superfly Records).

After the success of Kouté Jazz, Heavenly Sweetness comes back with a dancefloor but not jazz compilation, enough to move your feet at through the whole summer ! 13 disco, boogie and Zouk tracks recorded in the 80’s in the West Indies.

The advantage of this selection is precisely that it reveals a broader spectrum than the zouk music style that are badly defined. Most of the tracks, were not much broadcasted even if interpreted by some big names in Caribbean music (Pierre-Edouard Decimus / Patrick St. Eloi / Eddy La Viny). They were too fast classified as Zouk. These Tracks reveal this will of singularity, this merger between traditional and other rhythms genres (funk, disco, afro-beat, Latin Brazilian ...), with the addition of new instruments such as synthesizers and drums machine in the creative process.

In many zouk’s albums, this period often included one or even several, tracks that were qualified as "proto-zouk" and "funky-zouk" or the "boogie-zouk" to emphasize the fusion of genres . But these tracks have remained unknown to the general public because only the "hits" were played on the radio, dance floors (the famous "tan" or “zouk”), clubs and bus.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO